03
Feb
10

Feb 2nd, 2010. My first movie marathon for this blog.

Feb 2nd, 2010.

Spartan Phoenix’s Movie Marathon Man Blog

            It’s my mom’s birthday today. She will get a call from me around midnight my time, with the time difference it will still be 9 her time. Its also Groundhogs day and Punxsutawney Phil says its 6 more weeks of winter. Fine by me. My addiction to awesome jackets and many more indoor movie marathons planed, six more weeks of winter suites me just fine. My Spartan Phoenix year long Movie Marathon Man Blog starts today. So giddy up!

            My scheduled movies for the day are playing at my favorite AMC multiplex. The movies on my list are in this order: Avatar, Edge of Darkness, When In Rome and Lovely Bones.

First on my list is Avatar on IMAX 3-D. I pay to see this movie first, and then I casually walk into the rest on my list. This is the third time I’ve seen Avatar. It’s the 2nd time in IMAX. This theater is a “converted” IMAX theater, not a true IMAX. But it’s still very cool. Before Avatar I get my number one combo of a large diet coke and large popcorn. I had an email coupon for free small popcorn with the purchase of a large drink. But I can upgrade the small popcorn to a large for a dollar or two more, so I save money on the combo. Avatar is great, even the third time around. I kept thinking during the movie I can’t wait for the blu-ray special features and I love the cute little blue boobies on Neytiri. I tried to keep my IMAX 3D glasses, but they had theater staff making sure you deposited them in the recycle bin just outside the theater door. I got a refill on my soda and went to the men’s room to kill some time.  Its Texas Hold’em on the cell phone. Boo yah!

Next up was Edge of Darkness starring Mel Gibson. I’ve been looking forward to seeing Mel on the big screen again going rogue. To date one of my favorite Mel Gibson movies of all time is Payback. Edge of Darkness is based on a 1985 mini series. I liked Edge of Darkness. Good intrigue and supporting cast. Ray Winstone shines in his supporting roll. Before the movie I was excited to see the trailer for Wall Street 2. Gordon Gekko is back baby! Afterwards I refilled my #1 combo and took a leak.

Up next was the romantic comedy When In Rome starring Kristen Bell and Josh Duhamel. However I had about 45 minutes to kill before it started. I decided to kill this time by checking out the start of Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson’s movie Tooth Fairy. Fuck. I like Dwayne Johnson. But I can’t stand the fact he’s doing these family kiddy flicks. He needs to do more “man up” kick ass action flicks. I hate this trend of former bass ass’s doing kid flicks. Tooth Fairy sucked; at least I got a chance to fart out loud a few times, no one was in this theater anyways. When In Rome was cute. I like Kristen “Veronica Mars” Bell. I can see her doing well with the romantic comedies. However I would like to see here do a kick ass Michelle Rodriguez type role with guns or nun chucks. Kristen Bell is a tiny little thing so that would be entertaining. During the middle of When In Rome I decided not to see Lovely Bones. I didn’t want to spend another two hours and fifteen minutes in the theater. I was done. Besides my girl friend and I had been trading texts. She was having a bad day. I wanted to call her and cheer her up. She supports my movie marathons and I love her for that.

Next week I’m targeting John Travolta’s From Paris With Love and District 13: Ultimatum. Maybe I’ll be up for see Lovely Bones this time around. Its looks depressing but it’s a Peter Jackson film. Should be good right?

– Spartan phoenix

1 Response to “Feb 2nd, 2010. My first movie marathon for this blog.”


  1. February 3, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Happy Birthday, Mom! My first cameo may be during Paris. It will be interesting to see what you think of The Lovely Bones when you finally see it, and with your stamina, I know that you will at some point! Love the blog! Looking forward to more.


Leave a Reply

