03
Feb
10

Welcome to my Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon Man Blog!

Spartan Phoenix’s Movie Marathon Man Blog

Feb 1st, 2010.

            The idea struck me while I was stocking boxes of crackers at work. I’m employed at a well-known grocery store chain. I love movies, plain and simple. I love movies. Everyone that knows me knows I love movies. What can I do with that? I’m not making money with my pop culture and movie knowledge. Mostly I entertain or annoy people with my movie knowledge. But I have to do something more constructive with it.

            So I start my “Movie Marathon Man Manifesto”. I’m going to log in a years worth of my movie marathon knowledge and adventure. Starting tomorrow February 2nd 2010 through January 31st or 2011. I will blog about all of my movie marathons and the movies, trailers and people I see during them. Why start February 1st and not last month at the 1st of the year? Cause it didn’t come to me then. Plus it’s the short month, Groundhogs day (which is also my moms birthday), black history month, Valentines Day, blah, blah, blah. But before I talk about the movies themselves and the adventures that will come, lets cover the subject of and actual movie marathon.

            Ok so what the fuck is a movie marathon? For most people it’s a weekend night or day watching movies back to back on video usually with a same theme. You got your Star Wars, Star Trek, Horror, Matrix, and my favorite, The Lord of the Rings Extended version movie marathons. You break out the junk food and kick back, and check off two of the Seven Deadly Sins: Sloth and Gluttony. Awesome, the simple pleasures rock.

            Well my type of movie marathon involves going to a many multiplex movie theater in the morning or as soon as the first movie I want to see starts for the first time of the day. I do this on my day off of work. Here’s how it works. I go to a 16 to 24-screen movie theater multiplex. I pay for the first movie, and only the first movie. Once my ticket is torn in half, I buy a large diet cola and large popcorn (both of which get free re-fills). I want to support the theater by giving them money for concessions I buy, since they get little money from the actually movie ticket. Then I head to my “first” movie. During the course of the day I then go from movie to movie till I cross all of the movies on my list off, get tired, get sick or get cabin fever and leave the theater. During this time, in addition to my purchased concession food, I also partake in snacks I smuggle in my messenger bag. My motley crew of snacks may include a triple-decker peanut butter sandwich, peanut butter cups, some time of gummy candy and a bottle of water.

To kill time between movies I will visit the men’s bathroom and take a “fake dump” in the stall while I play Texas Hold’em poker on my cell phone or browse through my Star Trek, Star Wars or Highlander Collectible Card Game decks. The “fake dump” is a great way to stay out of the watchful eyes of the theater staff. Rule number one of movie marathons is “Don’t bring attention to yourself”. Don’t wear loud clothing, hats, and anything that may bring extra attention to you. And try not to look the staff in the eye. Don’t talk to them if you don’t have too. Don’t worry about the concession staff; most of them are stuck behind the counter. Another good trick to be ignored is to the fake cell phone call in between your movie theater stroll, while you’re walking from theater to theater. The fake cell phone call is a great way to avoid eye contact. Also if you can avoid it, stay out of the main theater lobby and don’t loiter for too long in one place. The best place to hide is the bathrooms or in a theater itself.

My movie marathon starts the day or sometimes days before I actually go. I plan my movie marathon through Yahoo movies online. I copy and past the theater movie schedule onto a word document once it’s made available on line. Then I find out which of the three to five movies (some times less sometimes more) I want to see. Figuring out which order to see the movies depends on the start times and the frequency the movies are played during the day and night. Once I figure out an order, I highlight the start times of each movie in red, and print out the schedule. I take note of the movie length times to adjust which movies I squeeze in. It’s a challenge at times because some movies I want to see aren’t scheduled frequently enough for me to squeeze in. I don’t mind missing the previews or leaving during the start of credits, but I hate missing the beginning of a movie.

So there you go. That’s my world. Enjoy. Strap in and get ready to ride along. There’s more to come, so let’s rock! – Spartan Phoenix.

1 Response to “Welcome to my Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon Man Blog!”


  1. February 3, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Love the idea! Looking forward to the blogs… and to hopefully making a few cameos in your marathons!!!


Leave a Reply

