08
Feb
10

From Paris with Love from your Movie Marathon Man

Feb 7th. 2010             

From Paris with Love from your Movie Marathon Man

            So last Friday, the premiere day for most movies. I had the day off today and my band was playing that night. (Unfortunately we had to cancel the show later when my drummer’s basement flooded due to the major rainfall as of late. A bassist needs his drummer baby!)  I also have a midday date with my girlfriend Jane Davis. I was really looking forward to hanging with her and doing the movie thing I love. We went to see the movie “From Paris with Love” starring John Travolta and Jonathan Rhys Meyers. I enjoyed the trailer for this movie so I was looking forward to seeing this movie. We had plans to meet at theater cause we were coming from different errands we had planned before. The plan was to hit the 2:35 show which I bought tickets for. But due to heavy rain and traffic my lovely Jane was running late. So I exchanged the tickets for the next show at 3:10. Problem solved. We got a popcorn and diet soda combo and cought the trailers. I love trailers. This is the reason I like to be at the movies a little early.

Here’s the deal. I’m mot sure I liked this movie….. yet. I think I did. Has this ever happen to you? You walk out of the theater and you’re not quite sure? I’m leaning to yes. Here is what I did like: It was filmed in Paris. I liked John Travolta’s character Charlie Wax. It had good action scenes, most of which included Charlie Wax killing almost every single bad guy in the film, which was a lot. The death count reminded me of a John Woo film, which is a good thing. What I didn’t like was some plot holes and parts of the character played by Jonathan Rhys Meyers. I don’t know, I’m leaning towards liking the film. But I have questions that I need to roll around in my head like Pac-Man after a hunger strike.

But my main question I have to ask myself is how many people did John Travolta’s character actually kill? Its going to kill me, if I don’t know. I liked the movie enough to plan to see it again and to see if I liked it or not. Weird, I know. Would I recommend it? I’ll let you know when I’m ready to let you know.  Which may be this next Monday on my day off. Movie Marathon baby!

–         Spartan Phoenix out!

PS. The Saints just won the super bowl as I’m writing this. Go Saints! I was pulling for ya!

PSS. Please check out my previous blogs for more of my Movie Marathon yearlong experiment.

Movie count thus far:

February            2010: Movies Seen: 4             Partial Movies Seen: 1 

List of total movies seen:

Avatar,

Edge of Darkness

When In Rome

From Paris With Love

List of partial movies seen:

Tooth Fairy

1 Response to “From Paris with Love from your Movie Marathon Man”


  1. 1 janedavisblogs
    February 9, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    Looking forward to your final verdict on this film. I liked it. I found myself entertained and also surprised. I didn’t expect the plot to get personal… but now that I think of it, that’s one of the big holes you may be speaking of. Hmm… Anyway, the popcorn was good and my seatmate was smokin-hot!


Leave a Reply

