07
Mar
10

Alice, is it 4:20 yet?

 

           Friday 03-05-10 was date day with my girlfriend Jane Davis (a.k.a. Jen). It was also opening day for the movie Alice in Wonderland . I had a morning shift at work so I was off at 12:30 pm. It was my girlfriend’s idea to see Alice in Wonderland on opening day. The cool kick was that we would see it at the true IMAX Theater, not the converted IMAX Theater that I normally go to. A converted IMAX theater is stiAll better than a regular movie screen, but not as cool as a real IMAX screen.

            My girlfriend bought the tickets online for an afternoon show so we could do a dinner later on. Turns out the showtime start for the movie was for 4:20pm. Heh, heh. I can imagine many people may take advantage of the 4:20 pm start time and partake in some kind of pre movie alcohol or druggie fun. For those of you who don’t know 420 is a drug reference to smoking pot, otherwise know as Tea Time.

            We got to the mall the IMAX Theater was located in early so we could do some exploring. The mall is located about 45 minutes outside of Atlanta. The first thing I noticed was how much bigger the hair is on the moms the farther from the city you get. The mall felt a lot more “country” than downtown if you know what I mean. I’d been to this IMAX once before when I saw The Dark Knight during its big opening week. I knew the best seats in the house are in the middle about two to three rows from the back. We got there about 30min before show time to get in line early.

We had a little time to make a quick stop in the lobby photo booth where it spits out four black and white photos. They spit out fast nowadays. I remember when you had to wait 10 min and you had to be careful cause the pictures may still be hot and wet. We did the two normal smiley pictures, then one mushy and the obligatory goofy shot. They came out nice. The cool thing was that we each got a copy of the four pictures. Not bad for three bucks. Fun stuff.

My girlfriend got into line first so I could make a quick bathroom stop and get my free popcorn with the coupon I got when we checked in our online printed tickets at the ticket booth. I had to report a messy men’s bathroom to a nearby manager. You know that large bathroom stall for wheelchair access? I like to use those larger stalls cause of the extra room, its not claustrophobic at all. You can stretch out your legs when you’re taking a dump. It’s better lit too. I had to avoid this one cause it looked like someone marked their territory by peeing all over the floor and seat. My guess was that the toilet backed up. The worst part was that it spread outside of the stall cause people had tracked it all over the floor, eww, ugh.

OK I digress, back on track. Its interesting the 3D glasses that are used now. I’ve seen four different types since the recent popularity rise of 3D movies. The material the lenses are made out of remain the same; it’s the frames that change. I guess different companies are getting in the 3D movie money rage now. Competition baby. The ones we had for Alice were yellow framed and the lenses were a little smaller than the ones when I first saw the midnight premiere of Avatar last December. I was excited to see the trailers. When you see a 3D movie you always see trailers for upcoming 3D movies. The trailers shown before Alice in Wonderland were: How to Train Your Dragon , Toy Story 3 and my favorite Tron Legacy . I told my girlfriend after the Tron trailer that I had “movie chub”. That’s my way of saying I can’t wait to see this movie in 3D, and I’m very excited about it. It’s been 28 years since the first one, which I still love.

Alice In Wonderland stars Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Anne Hathaway, and newcomer Mia Wasikowska . The movie is directed by Tim Burton . Tim Burton and Johnny Depp have done about seven movies together. Is that weird? I’m not sure what to think about that yet. I didn’t have any expectations for this film. I just wanted to see the 3D visual aspect of the film. The movie wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great either. I wouldn’t recommend it in 2D, but I would in 3D. It’s strange to say that about movies now. Since 3D is the wave of the future, (Thank you Avatar) Its gonna change the way movies are seen and marketed. Its like, “dude, the movie totally sucked, but you should see it cause it looked cool, take some weed with you man:-)”. The costumes and visual effects were pretty cool. Johnny Depp’s character as the Mad Hatter was OK but the other characters by far especially by Mia Wasikowska who played Alice upstaged him. Many of the CG characters were very cool to look at too. The Cheshire cat looked a little more evil than I expected, I had a little problem with that. Alice by far was my favorite character. She rocked the cool outfits especially the hot suit of armor she donned at the end of the film.

            So that’s Alice for ya. Next week I’ve already planned my next movie marathon. I’ve got 3 or 4 on my radar to do in one day. There are some movies that have already been out for more than a week that haven’t seen yet. What the fuck is wrong with me? I’ve got to get on the ball man :-)

 – Spartan  Phoenix

  Total Movies Seen to date since February 1st 2010:  13

  • February            2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 1

List of total movies seen:

January:

–         Avatar (IMAX 3-D,)

–         Edge of Darkness

–         When In Rome

–         From Paris With Love

–         The Lovely Bones

–         From Paris With Love

–         Valentines Day

–         The Wolfman

–         Sherlock Holmes

–         Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief

–         Shutter Island

–         Dear John

March:

–         Alice In Wonderland (IMAX 3D)

List of partial movies seen (1)

Tooth Fairy

List of movies seen more than once (1):

From Paris With Love

1 Response to “Alice, is it 4:20 yet?”


  1. March 8, 2010 at 11:26 am

    So glad to get caught up with you on your blog- even though I co-star in it often, I like to read your thoughts =) I can’t believe you figured out the mid-twist 1/4 of the way through Shutter Island! I had no idea you were expecting it. Are you going to tell me that you figured out the ending to Sixth Sense thats soon as well? +) I wasn’t expecting it and the ending to Shutter pissed me off. Good thing we had great snacks that day!


Leave a Reply

