04
Apr
10

My Man Card Is Suspended.

Friday April 2nd, 2010

My Man Card Is Suspended.

I had another Friday off. Which means its opening movie weekend. As I said before I’m not a fan of doing movie marathons on opening weekends, instead I prefer during the week. However an opportunity presented itself. I had made plans to spend the night at Jane’s house the night before. I also had plans to do the marathon at the AMC Theater I went to the last time, which was the first time I had been at this theater. It was closer to Jane’s house to. However when I started to plan the movie marathon schedule, I noticed that this AMC wasn’t playing Clash of the Titans on this opening weekend. What the hell? How does a 24-screen movie theater not play a major movie release? Whatever, I’ll figure that out later. Jane suggested that I go to a Regal Multiplex near the AMC instead. We went over the movie listings for this theater and found a three movie marathon schedule I liked which included seeing Clash of the Titans in 3D

Normally I like to scout a theater by seeing only one movie there first. But I decided to just go for it. If I had too, I would pay for all three movies to get this marathon in instead of sneaking into the last two. When I got there I paid to see Clash of the Titans in 3D. Although I got a pair of 3D glasses for my ticket I did bring my 3D IMAX glasses I got at the midnight Premiere of Avatar last December 2009. The lenses were a larger size than the regular 3D glasses, so I thought they would be better to use. After I bought my #1 large popcorn diet coke free refill combo I strolled around the theater to get the lay of the land. It was your typical theaters on the left and right with your concession stand in the middle. The hallways down the theater isles were much smaller, but the theater had a cozy feeling for a multiplex.

After the non-3D previews for Clash of the Titans the move screen instructed everyone to don their 3D glasses. I instead put my 3D IMAX glasses on. Well guess what? They didn’t work. I thought the lenses were the same, but I guess I was wrong. Another thing I should have Googled first. As for the movie itself, I enjoyed it; it was a lot of fun. It was paced well and had a great cast. They even had time to poke fun at the 1981 campy Clash of the Titans. Here’s my only issue with this movie. With all of the 3D movies coming out nowadays I figure there will be some not worth paying to see in 3D, especially the high extra charge for 3D tickets. Some movies are worth seeing in 3D like Avatar and most recently How To Train Your Dragon. But some are not and Clash Of The Titans is not worth your 3D ticket, but is worth a regular 2D price. Don’t get me wrong; visually it was cool, but not good enough for 3D. I guess I’m getting spoiled with all of the movies I’ve seen lately:-). 

The 2nd movie I went to see was Remember Me starring Robert Pattinson now better known as the star from the Twilight movies and Harry Potter. I’ve been trying to squeeze this movie into previous movie marathons but didn’t get around to it. It wasn’t playing at my regular AMC Theater so I thought I lost my chance to see it so I was happy to still see it playing at this theater. I wasn’t expecting much from this film at all. I was only curious to see Robert Pattinson play something other than a vampire or a wizard. I wanted to know if this guy could act. Turns out, he can. He played the early 20’s brooding guy well. I liked the story, it was a little depressing, but the performances were very good. I was wondering how this movie was going to end. I thought it was going to have a predictable ending. I thought I had the ending figured out. Boy was I wrong. This ending had an “Oh fuck” ending. Didn’t see that coming. It wasn’t a The Crying Game type of ending, but it did surprise me. I’m not gonna spoil it, but I do want to know what you think of the ending. So I guess I recommend this movie. It tugged a strong emotional cord with me.

The last movie on my three-movie marathon was The Last Song. Jane and I decided we wanted to see this movie so we made plans for her to meet me at the theater to see it together. It looked to be a good date movie and she surprised me at the theater by inviting me out to dinner afterwards. How sweet is that? She rocks. We had seen trailers for this movie where the star Miley Cyrus had a “who farted” look down that we thought that was very funny, curiosity got the better of us. So since the movie stars Miley Cyrus I had my “Man Card” checked in and I’m now temporarily suspended from it. The movie was written by Nicholas Sparks who penned books, which were made into chick flick movies like Dear John, Nights in Rodanthe, The Notebook and A Walk to Remember. I thought this guy might be a girly man with a vagina as well has a penis but I found out that not only is he well educated but also has a black belt in Tae Kwon Do. So since he can kick my ass and has a career I wish I could have, I’ll let him have a pass. Miley Cyrus was OK in the flick but her father in the movie played by Greg Kinnear was what impressed me. Greg’s performance hit home with me and this PG chick flick actually brought a few tears to my eyes. Man card revoked! Ahh well. I’ll get it back some how:-) With that said, I have been known to shed a tear from time to time at an occasional romantic comedy or action dude flick with a bromance moment. So suck it! I’m not afraid to admit it. Excuse me, I’ve gotta go, I’ve got something in my eye.

 – spartan phoenix

 Total Movies Seen to date since February 1st 2010:  29

  • February            2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 3
3 Responses to “My Man Card Is Suspended.”


  1. April 4, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    I’m not an expert on ‘man card’ rules, as I have a vagina and all… but I think you are somewhat redeamed by admitting to the tears. Only a true manly man will admit to crying during a PG flick staring Miley Cyrus.

    I love you for that =)

    For the record, I was crying MUCH harder than Spartan.

  2. 2 Bob
    April 7, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    I’m glad you revoked your own man card before I had to do it for you. Football season won’t come soon enough it seems!

  3. April 26, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    Wow. This is awesome. I like it.


Leave a Reply

