30
Apr
10

Avatar on Blu-ray already? Suck it. Count me out …… for now.

Avatar on Blu-ray already? Suck it. Count me out …… for now.

04-23-10

Before I get into the recent release of Avatar on Blu-ray, which I have a problem with; I wanted to update you on my ongoing yearlong movie marathon experiment. April is winding down and I was able to get in a couple more movies in to beat March’s totals from last month.  Today is Friday and there was two movies just released that I wanted to get in today. Just a quick two-movie marathon was what I was in the mood for.

 The first movie I saw was The Losers. Another movie based on a comic series. The movie is about members of a CIA black ops team who root out those who targeted them for assassination after being betrayed and left for dead. I enjoyed the trailer for this film. After seeing it I was a little disappointed due to some plot holes. It had some fun action and humor. This move was rated PG-13. Do you ever see a movie and thought it could have been better if it was rated R instead? The look, feel and concept of the film should had and R rating. The movie feels like it was over cut (edited) to reach a younger PG-13 crowd. MY best example is, have you ever tried to watch a great R rated movie on regular TV broadcast and it is so heavily edited cause much of the adult dialog, sex or violence has been cut? You notice the original running time has been cut down so much due to the heavy editing to make it more family viewing friendly. This was the feeling I got watching The Losers. It could have been better, like I wanted it to be.

 The second movie I saw was The Back-up Plan starring Jennifer Lopez. Jennifer plays a woman who conceives through artificial insemination, only to meet the man of her dreams on the very same day. This movie falls under the romantic comedy title. Jennifer starred in a romantic comedy back in 2002 called Maid in Manhattan that I liked. So I knew she could be charming in this genre. But I was interested in seeing her co-star Alex O’Loughlin. I became a fan of his when he starred in a short lived TV series called “Moonlight” where he played a vampire who lands work as a private investigator and falls for mortal woman. This show was great but only last 16 episodes I think. This TV show came out right before the vampire onslaught of the Twilight movies, True Blood, Vampire Diaries, etc. Alex played Jennifer Lopez’s love interest in The Back-up Plan. I think Alex is a good actor and I hope this movie will open more doors for him in the future. The movie was cute, entertaining and predictable.

Ok on to Avatar on DVD/Blu-ray. Avatar was released on video April 22, 2010, which was also Earth Day. As I’m writing this (April 29, 2010), according to an article on

http://www.hometheatermag.com/news/042910avatar/

Avatar is breaking Blu-ray records all over the place. I expected this when I was looking to own it on Blu-ray myself. But when I heard that a special edition extended version of Avatar was to be released in November 2010 I knew I had to change a habit. The bad habit of jumping on the buying the first release simple version of a movie only having to buy another version of the same movie later on cause it offers a special edition, directors cut, extended cut with features up the wahzoo copy. Then your stuck with the plain version you try to unload on ebay later. Agghhhhhhh!

The version of Avatar braking sales records right now has no special features whatsoever. I did something I haven’t done before. I went to Best Buy, walked to the Avatar video display picked up a Blu-ray copy and put it back down. I didn’t buy it; I walked out of the store with out one. And I still don’t have one. I refuse to buy a copy of this movie without any special features. The nerd in me was very proud. Please understand I need more in my Blu-ray purchase for a movie like this. Especially a groundbreaking movie that Avatar is. I need features like how it was made, behind the scenes, special effects secrets, blooper, gag reels etc. This is coming from someone who bought in to too many versions of the Star Wars movies, Lord of the Rings, Star Trek and the list goes on and on.

When I went to Best Buy, right after I convinced myself not to buy a copy of this Avatar Blu-ray I noticed a couple next to me. The guy was looking at the Avatar Blu-ray copy with his girlfriend in tow waiting for him to make up his mind. I decided to step in and convince him not to do it. I explained to him about the upcoming extended version loaded with special features coming out later this year and that he will be tempted to buy that one as well. He chuckled at my suggestion cause he wanted to do what I suggested, but he couldn’t due to the fact that his girlfriend hadn’t seen Avatar yet and wanted to see it ASAP. My first thought was how long has she been your girlfriend dude? The movie is still playing at theaters, what the fuck? Either you just met her and wanted to get in her pants after she is wowed by the wonder of Avatar on Blu-ray or you went to see Avatar without her when you were going out, awkward. Oh wait, I know what’s that’s like. Been there before. Anyways, I saw this guy buy his Blu-ray copy. He fed the cash cow machine that I avoided. I’ll feed the machine later when the cow has more to offer bitches! Till then, I wont own this bare bones version of Avatar. Besides, if I need a copy of it, downloading it online is an option. According to the article I mentioned before, over 200,000 people (and growing) will beat me to it.

Before I forget, if you’re a first time reader of my blog, click on the link below and scroll down to the first blog entry to catch up on my yearlong movie marathon experimental plan and why I’m doing it.

https://spartanphoenix.wordpress.com/category/02-2010-movie-marathon-man/

Tell me what you think and share your thoughts. Thanks!  -Spartan Phoenix

Total Movies Seen to date since February 1st 2010:  42

  • February            2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March                  2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                     2010: Movies Seen: 16
1 Response to “Avatar on Blu-ray already? Suck it. Count me out …… for now.”


  1. April 30, 2010 at 11:03 am

    good call on the non-purchase. Maybe the November edition will include never-before-seen blue boobie action ;)


Leave a Reply

