10
May
10

Iron Man 2 Sleepover / Record Movie Marathon Visit

Iron Man 2 Sleepover / Record Movie Marathon Visit

Thursday May 6th, 2010

The summer movie season begins in May. Being a big movie fan and nerd, this gives me movie chub. The first projected blockbusters usually release in the first week in May. Last year it was X-Men Origins: Wolverine. This year it’s Iron Man 2. My movie marathon is Thursday May 6th, 2010. Iron Man 2 doesn’t officially open till tomorrow Friday May 7th. So starts my long tradition of the midnight summer movie premieres. Iron Man 2 was premiering at midnight after my movie marathon today. So I made the ambitious decision to start my marathon at 11am for the first movie on Thursday and end it approximately 2:30 am Friday morning after the midnight show of Iron Man 2. That would add up to about 15 ½ hours in the same theater, watching 7 movies. This would be a record movie marathon for me. My previous record was a 6-movie marathon, which I’ve tied several times. The first time I did six-movie marathon was when I was working in Norfolk Virginia. I did a 5-movie marathon at a local movie theater with 16 to 20 screens. After my 5th movie I left and went to another movie theater that served food on a table while you watched your movie. That 6th movie I saw that night was The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring. Now the theater was doing a special Iron Man double feature later that evening. At 9pm they were showing the original Iron Man and then the midnight premiere of Iron Man 2. When I bought my ticket for the 11am movie I also bought my tickets for the Iron Man double feature, which was at a discounted price. Before I get into Iron Man 2 lets go over what I did prior. On to the marathon!

My first movie I scheduled in my movie marathon started at 11am. The first movie I saw today was City Island starring Andy Garcia, Julianna Margulies, and Emily Mortimer. Andy Garcia is the patriarch of the family, who is a corrections officer in real life, and a hopeful actor in private. This movie is a small gem. I thoroughly enjoyed this film. I haven’t seen all of Andy Garcia’s films, but I have seen quite a few of his. In my opinion this is his best film to date. I hope he gets an Oscar nod for this role. It’s funny, intriguing and uplifting. Great film, go see it!

The next film I saw was A Nightmare on Elm Street, the remake staring Jackie Earle Haley as Freddy Krueger. Jackie Earle Haley recently got acclaim in last years Watchmen. I’m not a big horror film, there are a few I like and the original Nightmare on Elm Street and a couple of the many Freddy Krueger sequels I did like. This new version wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great. I liked the darker non-campy route this new version took. I thought Jackie Earl Haley’s portrayal of Freddy Krueger was good. He was entertaining too. My only problem with Jackie for this role was that he was too short. To me Freddy is a tall imposing character that translated well when the original actor Robert Englund portrayed Freddy. Don’t get me wrong I really like Jackie as an actor, but he is a short man. While I was watching the long shots of Freddy in this movie no matter what camera angle short man Tom Cruise movie tricks they tried Jackie’s Freddy Krueger character was too short and distracting for me. The close ups where great though. I would recommend it to anyone that does enjoy horror films and the original Nightmare movie.

The 3rd film I saw was Furry Vengeance starring Brendan Fraser. It’s a family comedy about local woodland creatures that don’t want their homes disturbed and get revenge on a human real estate developer who threatens their homes. This movie is a kid’s movie, which is why it didn’t appeal to me. I knew that going into to this film, but I was curious to see how funny this film might be. It’s too silly for adults but I’m sure kids will get a kick out of it. I decided to take a 15-20 minute nap during the middle of the film. I don’t think I missed much.

The next film was one I tried to see at my last movie marathon but it was only playing at select theaters so I couldn’t see it then. I’m glad I finally made time for this film. It’s called The Perfect Game starring Clifton Collins Jr. and Cheech Marin. Its Based on a true story, a group of boys from Monterrey, Mexico who become the first non-U.S. team to win the Little League World Series. I’m a baseball fan and I like seeing baseball movies especially during baseball season. This move has a great cast and heart. I think anyone could enjoy this film even non baseball fans. Clifton Collins Jr. was great in this film. I’ve become a bigger fan of his since I saw him in The Boondock Saints II: All Saints Day. He’s a great character actor. This movie proves he can be a great leading actor.

The 5th film in my movie marathon was Our Family Wedding starring Forest Whitaker, Carlos Mencia and America Ferrera. It’s about a young bi racial couple’s upcoming wedding that is complicated by their father’s petty feud. I’ve been trying to squeeze this film in my marathons for over a month now. I was surprised it was still playing. The theater only had two showing of this movie but the timing worked out great. I enjoyed this film more than I thought. Most of the humor was racially based, but not in a negative or derogative way, just a poke fun way. Trying to see Latino family and an African American family work together on a wedding was very funny. Check it out on video when you get a chance. Cute film.

Ok, now on to the Iron Man Double Feature! These movies are 6 & 7 in my record setting movie marathon. Iron Man 2 was playing on three screens for the midnight show. One of these screenings was in the IMAX Theater. When I bought my double feature tickets I made sure I bought one for the IMAX, or should I save “converted IMAX” :-) When I got into the 9pm showing of Iron Man 1, I noticed it was about 50% full. Before the movie started we were told by a very tall Secret Service looking theater staff dude that anyone who bought the IMAX ticket for Iron Man 2 would receive priority seating. Score! I was seating next to a fellow Iron Man nerd, a kid who looked like he was in his early twenties. We had the empty seat between us otherwise known as the “man buffer seat” or “Nope were not gay” seat. He was a nice guy. But then he went into Iron Man comic book lore that I didn’t have a clue about. I smiled and pretended to know by nodding and saying things like “Dude, I know, that would be cool!” and “Scarlet Johansson’s portrayal of Black Widow should be epic!”  Iron Man1 was fun to see on the big screen again.

After Iron Man 1 the IMAX Iron Man 2 ticket holders like myself were herded to a special line just outside the Iron Man 1 Theater. It was about 11:15 pm. There were only about15 of us in this line, which didn’t bother me cause I knew I would get a great IMAX seat. After about a 10-minute wait, the tall Secret Service looking theater staff dude asked us all in line to follow him. We headed towards the main lobby, hung a left and entered a staircase. We then all walked up one flight of stairs, through a door, which emptied out on to the 2nd floor of the theater which you, could look down on your left and see the main lobby of the theater. We walked a little further down the hallway and entered the IMAX Theater on the right, which we all then spread out and claimed our seats. This was cool. When it comes to IMAX seating I’ll get to the theater extra early to make sure I get the best seats. I want the perfect balance of sight and sound.

One of the best things I like about midnight movies and movie premiers is people watching. About 5 minutes after I took my seat they released the hoards. People started pouring in. Another theater staff personnel informed us that all three screenings of the Iron Man 2 midnight shows were sold out. They asked us to move toward the center of the theater so others could sit with their friends. No man buffer seats for this show. Many theatergoers were wearing their Iron Man shirts. Some children had Iron Man toys, not many kids though, so I was surprised to see any. There was a very large man about 300 to 400 pounds taking up two seats that sat to rows behind me. It’s a good thing the armrests in this theater slide up and down. There was even a dude who wore a blonde Barbarella Jane Fonda wig. He also had no shirt, just some type of small fishnet half vest. To top off his outfit he also had red and green toy ray guns that lit up when the trigger was pulled. What the fuck? Oh well, at least he was having fun.

Another great thing about the premiere of big summer movies is the new movie trailers of upcoming summer flicks or big fall and winter releases. When the lights went down and the curtain raised the trailers rained down on us. There was about 20 minutes of trailers. The trailers I saw were Robin Hood, TRON Legacy, Despicable Me, Toy Story 3, Inception and Jonah Hex. There was a couple of more but I forgot. When Iron Man 2 started you could feel the anticipation of excitement, it was so strong among everyone, it was like Christmas morning with your family and every gift you asked for lying at your feet glistening through the ripped up wrapping paper.  I thoroughly enjoyed this sequel. Iron Man 2 was so much fun. The cast was great. I even liked Don Cheadle ’s portrayal of Rhodey. Don Cheadle Replaced Terrence Howard after the first one. As usual Robert Downey Jr. was great. I’ve got a man crush on Robert. I’ve always liked his movie roles. I’m happy he’s turned his life around. I’m going to go on record and say that I liked this sequel better than the first one. Don’t get me wrong the first one was great and still it, but this second one turned it up a notch. If you see Iron Man 2, don’t forget to stay till the end of the credits. There is a secret scene at the end, which gives a tease to another superhero movie coming out next year I think. I love those secret ending scenes! 

One last thing, according to http://www.imdb.com/ Iron Man made a killing at the box office. This pass opening weekend it grossed about $128 million.

As I expected I got out of the theater about 2:30 am. The reason I called this blog entry Iron Man 2 Sleepover is because it felt like a camp out sleep over at my local theater especially since I went in on the morning of May 6th and left May 7th 15 ½ hours later. I also called this article a sleepover cause I then headed over to Jane’s house for a sleepover of our own :-) Yeah, yeah, peace out peeps!

– Spartan Phoenix

Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  49

  • February            2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 16
  • May                  2010: Movies Seen: 7
1 Response to “Iron Man 2 Sleepover / Record Movie Marathon Visit”


  1. 1 Bob McDermott
    May 11, 2010 at 4:01 am

    You, sir are a glutton for “funishment” Thanks for the rundown… I’m not sure I want to see an Imax-sized version of “what’s left of Mickey Roarke”.


Leave a Reply

