05
Jun
10

Prince Of Persia’s Sex In The City & The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

 Prince Of Persia’s Sex In The City & The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

Sunday 05-30-10

            With the month of May winding down my yearlong Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon experiment is heating up with June on the horizon. The mass of the big summer movies is going to be released through the months June and July. Today was Sunday and there were two major movie releases this weekend that I wanted to see. The advantage of doing a movie marathon on opening weekend is that movies start earlier in the morning like 10am or even as early as 9:30am. This means can get in a 3 or 4 movie marathon in and have the rest of my evening free.

            Because of the favorable schedule I went to my favorite AMC theater .At 10am this morning the first movie I saw was Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (2010) starring Jake Gyllenhaal, Gemma Arterton, and Ben Kingsley. This movie is based on the video game, which follows an adventurous prince who teams up with a rival princess to stop an angry ruler from unleashing a sandstorm that could destroy the world. I never played the game so I didn’t have any type of expectations. I thought this movie was fun, but it wasn’t great. I really liked the casting, costumes and some of the sets. Most of the sets and long shots were CG and so was some of the “impossible stunts” which bugged me a bit. For a 10 am movie I was impressed how many people showed up early for this movie. The theater was half full. Overall I enjoyed the flick. Gemma Arterton however caught my eye big time. She plays the rival princess. She’s a British beauty who recently starred in Clash of the Titans (2010) and a bond girl in Quantum of Solace (2008). She may have graduated to my top 5 J.

            The next movie I saw in my marathon was Sex and the City 2 (2010) starring Sarah Jessica Parker and Kim Cattrall. Now I’m going to go on record and say, I’m a dude who likes Sex and the City. I enjoyed the TV series and the first movie. I liked how funny and honest the dialog was. The dialog has always been the best part of the series for me. I also enjoyed the occasional girl nudity. I don’t pay too much attention to the fashion, that’s a girl thing that I overlook cause sometimes I think what they wear is way over the top anyways. My favorite character is Samantha portrayed by Kim Cattrall because she gets the best lines and is the most brash. I don’t find her attractive but she entertains me the most. In this movie the girls’ head to Abu Dhabi in the Middle East on a free PR trip that Samantha arranges. As you can imagine hilarity ensues. I really enjoyed this movie it was very funny. I liked it better than the first one. The movie started out with a very funny gay wedding scene. I noticed this movie got some very bad reviews. Which I don’t get cause I enjoyed it and it was well paced for a movie over 2 hours long.

            I thought I would share a little side note that is related to these two movies. One of my very best friends who I used to work with years ago who now lives in Washington State sent me a very funny cell phone text that I thought I would share. He and I used to do movie marathons together back in the day. Apparently he and his new girlfriend did their own movie marathon and also saw Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time and Sex and the City 2. Here is what his text said: “Dude, Prince of Persia sucked. At least Sex and the City was good. Even got a little B.J. during the closing credits!”  When I got this text I couldn’t help laugh out loud. We sometimes share our entertaining sexual situations with each other via text or phone.

            The last film I saw to wrap up this 3-movie marathon was Shrek Forever After in 3D. I saw this movie during my last marathon and really enjoyed it cause it was very funny. But I forgot to mention in my last blog post about this movie was that I did fall asleep for about 10 to 15 minutes during the first time I saw it. I fell into a sugar coma and dozed off. Even though I missed 10 to 15 minutes of Shrek Forever After I stilled enjoyed the film. So I wanted to see it again to see what I missed and enjoy the 3D imagery again.  I tend to smuggle my own pair of 3D glasses with me whenever I go to the movies now so I always have them on me.

Tuesday 06-01-10 / Foreign Film Fun    

            Today I planned a short two-movie marathon. This one made me a little nervous because I was planning it for a smaller art house type of theater with only 6 screens. There is no digital sign above the entrance to each theater just a number so it makes it more difficult to find out which movie is playing at a particular theater. Instead there are poster frames hanging outside each theater with the corresponding movie poster to identify which movie is playing inside. This theater is a landmark in the Atlanta area. A major movie theater company does not run it so I didn’t know if I could theater switch in-between movies. However the movies I wanted to see were foreign films not in major theatrical releases. These films were only playing at this theater. I like the concession stand at this theater, it serves a very cool variety of snacks and sweets you cant find in larger multiplex theaters. This theater even sells alcohol! Instead of my regular large Diet Coke and popcorn #1 combo I bought a pina colada flavored smoothie, medium popcorn and a delicious yummy brownie.

            The first movie I saw was The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo or better known in its native Swedish title Män som hatar kvinnor (2009). This movie is based on the very popular international best selling book The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. I never read the book. But this book first came to my attention when I noticed it on my girlfriend’s bookshelf. Jane said she hadn’t gotten around to reading it yet but she heard it was good. I then noticed the movie was playing at this art cinema. Then I found out through causal conversation that one of my co-workers just finished reading the book and said how good it was and was going to see it the a day before me. She also mentioned that there is three books in the series, which I think, involve the same character in this movie called Lisbeth Salander. The movie is about a journalist who is aided in his search for a woman who has been missing — or dead — for forty years by a young female hacker called Lisbeth Salander. The actress who played Lisbeth is Noomi Rapace. She was awesome in this movie. This movie overall was very good I highly recommend it. It’s a great thriller with historical and political intrigue. I did a little research and found out that there an American remake in the works and may be released in 2012. It will be called The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2012) and famous names are already attached to it like Johnny Depp, Viggo Mortensen and Carey Mulligan. The director attached to this remake is David Fincher better know for directing Se7en, Fight Club and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.

            I had no trouble theater switching. The second film I wanted to see was playing right next-door on the way towards the exit of the theater. The second film I saw was a British film called Harry Brown (2009) starring Michael Caine, Emily Mortimer and David Bradley. It’s about an elderly ex-serviceman and widower played by Michael Caine who looks to avenge his best friend’s murder by doling out his own form of justice. His best friend is played by David Bradley who is now better know as Argus Filch the bitter and cruel caretaker of Hogwarts in the Harry Potter films. When I found out this was a revenge film I was all over this movie like flies on shit. I got very excited about seeing and elderly Michael Caine kicking some ass! I wasn’t disappointed. Michael Caine’s character shows his age, which makes this film entertaining while he exacts his revenge on drug dealing street punks, and gang bosses who have overtaken his neighborhood. Michael Caine was superb in this role. , Emily Mortimer was good too. She plays a cop who is trying to help but is bogged down by her bureaucratic ass of a boss. It’s an interesting look into the underbelly of a crime ridden UK town. I like older actors playing roles their own age that can kick ass. Like Harrison Ford, Sylvester Stalone and Bruce Willis, Michael Caine can open up a can of whop-ass!

All right June, bring on your summer blockbusters! Stay tuned, more movie marathon adventures to come!

– Spartan Phoenix

0 Responses to “Prince Of Persia’s Sex In The City & The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

