09
Jul
10

The Last Airbender 3D, Cyrus, Twilight: Eclipse … Again.

 The Last Airbender 3D, Cyrus, Twilight: Eclipse … Again.

July 6th 2010

Hello July. The Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon Man year long experiment continues and is almost halfway done. The summer movie season is in full throttle. The major big screen blockbusters have paved their trail, but lets not forget about the smaller independent films out there too. Today I had scheduled a full day and night movie marathon. As usual I printed out my schedule and folded it up and slid it into my wallet. Part of me wanted to keep it only to a 3-movie marathon. I had the urge to ride my bike later before I lost the daylight. Most of the time when I enter a daylong movie marathon, I leave when I feel like it.

 

The first movie in today’s marathon was The Last Airbender (2010) in 3D. Now normally I would see a 3D movie later in the marathon and bring my own 3D glasses. But this time went to a AM showing at a matinee discount price so I didn’t mind paying extra for the 3D glasses charge. This movie is directed by M. Night Shyamalan who’s last 3 films (The Happening, Lady in the Water , The Village ) kind of opened up a can of suck each. Especially The Happening, my god was that bad. “Oooooo, lets be afraid of the air!” Ugh.

 The Last Airbender (2010) stars Noah Ringer, Jackson Rathbone (who also currently stars in The Twilight Saga: Eclipse), Nicola Peltz and Dev Patel (Slumdog Millionaire (2008)). Visually this movie was entertaining. The costumes, sets and weapons were very cool. This move is about the adventures of Aang, a young successor to a long line of Avatars, who must put his childhood ways aside and stop the Fire Nation from enslaving the Water, Earth and Air nations. Whats interesting is the Fire Nation leading cast members (who are the bad guys) were played Indian (India) cast members. I thought this was in interesting casting choice. M. Night Shyamalan who was born in India himself must have had fun casting these cool characters of the Fire Nation.

My only problem with the film was the over use of what I like to call the “Tai Chi posturing”. It seems that the martial arts form of Tai Chi was used to summon and control the powers of the different elements in the film. It seems you must go through several Tai Chi postures and stances like kind of look like a dance. But after the first few times it got kind of old. It like watching a person in a dance contest that does a very cool routine that catches your attention. But then they do the same dance again, and again, and again, when you’re expecting something new.

Overall I though the movie was OK, It wasn’t bad, it wasn’t great, but it was interesting. The movie ends with the obvious possibilities of sequels. I think M. Night Shyamalan has plans for a trilogy. One last note, I don’t think this film deserves your extra ticket charge for the 3D glasses. Seeing this in 2D will suite you just fine.

 

            The second film in my marathon was Cyrus (2010) starring John C. Reilly, Jonah Hill, Marisa Tomei and Catherine Keener. It’s about a divorced loser guy played by John C. Reilly who meets the woman of his dreams (Marisa Tomei.) Then he meets her son (Jonah Hill) and problems ensue. When I first saw the trailers for this film, it seemed like it was a black comedy that would make me laugh. Critics were calling this film “Killer Funny, the sharpest comedy at Sundance”. Maybe I missed something, but boy was this untrue. I didn’t laugh once during this film. This film was depressing and uncomfortable. I expected some humor of some kind in this film especially with the funny men John C. Reilly and Jonah Hill in this film. Didn’t happen. Jonah Hill’s character is the title character Cyrus. Jonah plays him very well. He’s very creep and manipulative as he tries to sabotage the new relationship between John C. Reilly and Marisa Tomei’s characters. This movie did tug and emotional cord with me. The movie covers the topic of panic attacks. Someone close to me suffers from panic attacks so I’ve seen first hand how difficult they can be to deal with. I don’t recommend this film, I was disappointed, I think you will be too.

 

            After the disappointment of the Cyrus movie I need a good escape movie. Originally I thought I would see the A-Team movie again. But I was in the mood for only one more movie today. I really wanted to see The Twilight Saga: Eclipse (2010) again. I saw this movie last week with my girlfriend Jane. We both really enjoyed this third installment. If you read my last blog entry:

https://spartanphoenix.wordpress.com/2010/07/03/8-things-guys-can-appreciate-about-twilight/

You know guys can like these films too. I am one of those guys. So I got a refill on my large #1 combo of popcorn and diet coke and headed into the theater to see The Twilight Saga: Eclipse. This movie was fun to see again. Jackson Rathbone who plays the Cullen Clan member Jasper Whitlock by far is my favorite character in this film. His girlfriend Alice Cullen played by Ashley Greene is another cool character to watch too. She’s good looking, but also Alice has the girl next door thing going on and is someone that you can relate to in a good friend.

            Afterwards, cabin fever set in and I was ready to get home and get in a good bike ride. I started riding a new trail in town on my mountain bike. I missed doing this. This is a form of exercise I really enjoyed when I was younger. As you know if you are a loyal reader of my movie blogs I spend a lot of time indoors, which may be more suitable during the winter or bad weather days. But I’m such a movie fan I need my daylong indoor theater fix even during some of the nicest days. Finding a balance is the key I guess. If you didn’t know me you might think I’m a pale skinned movie nerd. Well you might be right most of the year, but I’ll have you know I’m working on a nice biker tan now.

Stay tuned my fellow movie nerds, more Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon Man adventures to come. Next is Predators (2010) and Despicable Me (2010) in 3D!

– Spartan Phoenix

1 Response to “The Last Airbender 3D, Cyrus, Twilight: Eclipse … Again.”



Leave a Reply

