12
Jul
10

Predators Return! Despicable Me In 3D Please! I want my Black & Tan!

Predators Return! Despicable Me In 3D Please! I want my Black & Tan Georgia!

July 10th, 2010

Cool, movie marathon today and my girlfriend will meet up with me for the last movie for date night! How cool is that? My girlfriend Jane and I made plans to meet up tonight at the movie theater at 7pm where I start my movie marathon at 10am. My Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon yearlong experiment continues to be fun. But it becomes extra fun when Jane can join me. Including the movie that Jane and I will see together tonight I planned a five movie marathon including a partial movie to kill time between two full length movies. I went to the big AMC theater near Jane’s house, which has one of the converted (fake) IMAX screens. I like this theater cause its large and has a lot of room to maneuver between theaters.

 

The first movie I saw today was The A-Team (2010) starring Liam Neeson, Bradley Cooper, Jessica Biel, Quinton ‘Rampage’ Jackson and Sharlto Copley. I really wanted to see this movie again. The first time I saw it was at the midnight premiere when I broke my personal move marathon record of seeing 8 movies in one theater visit. You can see that blog post here:

https://spartanphoenix.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/the-a-team-rush-beyond-the-lighted-stage-marathon-record-broken/

This move was just as much fun the second time around. I thought it was a great big screen adaptation of the TV show. Good casting choices too. Treat yourself and have fun at this movie before it leaves the big screen, its worth a theater visit.

 

The second movie I saw was The Karate Kid (2010) starring Jaden Smith, Jackie Chan and Taraji P. Henson. I had already seen this movie, but I wanted to see it again too. I feel this remake has enough original material to stand on its own. Jaden Smith and Jackie Chan do very well in their roles as student and teacher. I loved the fact that the film was shot in China; it’s a beautiful country.

 

The third film I saw today was Predators (2010) starring Adrien Brody, Topher Grace, Alice Braga, Laurence Fishburne and Danny Trejo. I’m a big fan of the Predator and Alien movies. The individual Predator or Alien movies stand on their own better than the Alien vs. Predator movies where the two species are pitted against each other in battle. The like the human vs. Predator battles more than the human vs. Alien. Although the Alien movies are more suspenseful which make them special.  I was really looking forward to this new Predators (2010) movie for one reason: Robert Rodriguez. Robert is one of the producers and his film company was used to make the movie. Having the movie in his hands sort of speak meant that he would be true to the original Predator (1987) movie starring Arnold Schwarzenegger.

This movie did not disappoint. This movie is a direct sequel from the original. This is explained in the movie. In this film, members of the merciless alien race known as Predators hunt a group of human warriors. But the twist is these humans are kidnapped form Earth and placed on a Predator hunting planet for the live game hunt.

The best part of this movie is the diverse cast playing the human warriors. As you watch the film you start to pick your favorite character. It may change later in the film when the characters start to develop even more. My favorite was the character that had the least lines, the Yakuza character played by Louis Ozawa Changchien. His fight scene was my favorite too. The other character I liked was the death row inmate played by Walton Goggins who can also be seen in one of my new favorite TV shows called “Justified”. Adrien Brody’s character was the alpha male leading the motley crew of human predators. He bulked up for the role, which surprised me cause he’s always been the skinny guy in his films. The movie had a couple of surprises and twists. If you’re a fan of this genre and the original Predator (1987) film, check this new one out. I don’t think you will be disappointed.

 

 The fourth film I saw was the 3D showing of Despicable Me (2010) starring the voice talents of Steve Carell, Jason Segel, Russell Brand and Julie Andrews. This CG (computer generated) animated film is about a trio of orphan girls who cause the normally deplorable and evil genius super villain Gru voiced by Steve Carell to rethink his plan to steal the moon to upstage a rival. As I’ve done before I brought my own 3D glasses to the theater. But I would have paid the extra money for the 3D ticket if this were my first film of the day. Now, you should know by now if you’re a regular reader of my movie blogs that I try to see all 3D movies that are released instead of the 2D versions, at least at first. I do this for you because I believe that not all 3D movies are worth the extra charge to your ticket when seeing the 2D version could be a better movie value. I feel you should know if the extra 3D cost is worth your money. Trust me, I’m here for you, heh heh.

In the case of Despicable Me, Its worth seeing in 3D, trust me. This movie is slickly stylish and a wonder in 3D. The characters are visually fun and entertaining to see. There is a roller coaster scene that is great to see in 3D. I actually got “roller coaster tummy” watching this scene. Its the same feeling I get when I’m riding an actual roller coaster or when I go down a steep hill in my car at a fast speed. I think you all know that feeling. Steve Carell did an awesome job voicing the evil but likable Gru as well as the rest of the cast did with their characters. This movie is a must see in 3D. See it bitches!

After Despicable Me I had an hour to kill before my movie date with Jane. So I went to see the last half of the movie Get Him to the Greek (2010) starring Russell Brand and Jonah Hill. I had just heard Russell Brand’s voice in the movie Despicable Me as he voiced one of the characters in that movie. I had already seen Get Him to the Greek during its opening week. It’s a funny movie worth seeing again, even if only half of it. During this last half of this movie I shared a couple of text messages with Jane. She was running about 10 minutes late for our movie meet up which was fine cause she would only miss the previews.

 

The fifth and final movie I saw in my movie marathon was Letters to Juliet (2010) starring Amanda Seyfried, Christopher Egan and Vanessa Redgrave. This was the movie I saw with my girlfriend Jane for the beginning of our date night. I had already seen this film in a movie marathon during the films first opening week. After I saw this film I new this should be a movie I should share with Jane too. I was very happy that she agreed to see it with me while it was still playing in the theater. This was the only theater still showing this movie. When Jane arrived she looked hot and beautiful. She had just had her hair done and she bought a new outfit that compliments her style. She smelled good too, mmmm snarf, snarf! Jane really enjoyed this movie about an American girl on vacation in Italy finds an unanswered “letter to Juliet” — one of thousands left at the fictional lover’s Verona courtyard, which are typically answered by a the “secretaries of Juliet” — and she goes on a quest to find the lovers referenced in the letter. A message to my fellow dudes out there, this is a good date move. Make this movie an opportunity for you and your Juliet, or in my case Jane.

Our date didn’t end with the end of the movie. Jane and I went out to dinner and enjoyed a fine feast at a restaurant called California Dreaming. My only problem was one I seem to find quite frequently in most Georgia restaurants; I cant seem to get my favorite beer made, a Black and Tan. They either don’t have the Bass or they don’t have the Guinness , WTF? When I lived in California I didn’t seem to have a problem getting my Black and Tans. Mmmmmmm, my lovely Black and Tans. It’s real easy to make Georgia! Check it out:

http://www.drinksmixer.com/drink1264.html

And this it what it looks like: 

Till next time my movie nerds! – Spartan Phoenix

Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  87

  • February        2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 16
  • May                  2010: Movies Seen: 18
  • June                 2010: Movies Seen: 19
  • July                  2010: Movies Seen: 8
0 Responses to “Predators Return! Despicable Me In 3D Please! I want my Black & Tan!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

