20
Jul
10

Inception, A Message For Leo / The Sorcerer’s Apprentice

Inception, A Message For Leo / The Sorcerer’s Apprentice

Saturday July 17th, 2010

As usual I scheduled a 4 to 6 movie marathon today, but only two movies were new releases. The others were ones I had seen before but was interested in seeing again, as usual. I ended up only seeing the two movies. Besides I had a feeling I wanted to spend the late afternoon getting some exercise. As I’ve said before some days I can lose myself in a movie theater all day and night and feel completely comfortable doing so. However some days I know cabin fever will set in and I need to get out after a couple of movies. This was one of those days. But I was very excited about the two movies I would see today.

The first movie I saw today started at 9:45 am. It was the IMAX showing of the movie Inception (2010) starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Ellen Page, Ken Watanabe, Tom Hardy and Marion Cotillard. This IMAX Theater of course was the converted IMAX at my favorite AMC. It’s a nice screen, but not a real IMAX Theater in my opinion. For more of my thoughts on this please see an earlier blog entry on mine about fake IMAX screens. That link is here:

https://spartanphoenix.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/is-your-imax-theater-a-real-imax-theater-do-i-feel-guilty-for-what-i-do/

Inception (2010) is one of those movies worth seeing on the big screen especially an IMAX screen. This movie is directed by Christopher Nolan whose last film was The Dark Knight (2008). Visually this movie is very entertaining, this has become a Christopher Nolan trait. This movie is about a world where technology exists to enter the human mind through dream invasion where a single idea within one’s mind can be the most dangerous weapon or the most valuable asset. I guess this movie is considered a heist film, but I forgot this during the middle of the film cause the plot is very complex when you first see it. You lose sight of why they are doing what they’re doing. I found myself saying, this is cool shit, but I forgot why they were there and sneaking into this guys dreams. There’s the “lets invade a dream within a dream within a dream” thing. The plot gets complicated but the editing is done very well to bring the whole thing together at the end. I’ll see it again and I’m sure it will piece together much easier.

I loved the cast too. The team that Leonardo DiCaprio’s character puts together for this heist is a great cast and enjoyable to watch. My two favorites are played by Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Tom Hardy. Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s character has a great fight scene in zero gravity. Tom Hardy’s character was my favorite. What was bugging me was that I recognized him from another film role during this movie but couldn’t place it, It wasn’t till I started writing this blog entry that I found out on http://www.imdb.com/ that he played the main villain Praetor Shinzon in Star Trek: Nemesis (2002). Being a Star Trek nerd too, I thought this was very cool. One other cool noteworthy thing about this film was the music. The score was vary captivating, especially during the action sequences.

I had only one problem with this film, and it’s with Mr. Leonardo DiCaprio. I have an open message to Mr. Leo. I get it; you’re a great actor. You’ve worked with legendary directors and have already had a career that most actors would dream of having. Your recent movie choices like Shutter Island, Revolutionary Road, Body of Lies, Blood Diamond, The Departed and The Aviator are good films. But I’m starting to see the same depressed and stressed character acting from you. I’m getting tired of it man. Dude, lighten up! How about doing a romantic comedy or adventure film. Try smiling once too. The last time I remember your character smiling was in Catch Me If You Can (2002). Also Leo, I have a message to you and Martin Scorsese. It’s the same message I would have for Johnny Depp and Tim Burton, take a long break on working together again. Your movies are becoming familiar and formulaic.

The second film I saw today was The Sorcerer’s Apprentice (2010) starring Nicolas Cage, Jay Baruchel and Alfred Molina. This film is loosely based on the Mickey Mouse cartoon short in the Disney film Fantasia (1940). The plot is about Master sorcerer (Nicolas Cage) who recruits a nerdy college student (Jay Baruchel) in his mission to defend New York City from his arch-nemesis played by Alfred Molina.

As a kid I remember my mom taking me to see the original Fantasia during one of its re-releases. It’s a collection of animated interpretations of great works of Western classical music and the original Sorcerer’s Apprentice was Mickey Mouse. Who could forget when Mickey used his under developed magic to command the mops and brooms to clean for him and things got a bit out of hand. Well I’m happy to say that fans of this original Mickey Mouse Sorcerer’s Apprentice will be treated with a fun scene from this new The Sorcerer’s Apprentice (2010) that pays tribute to the original.

I really enjoyed this film. It’s a good fun adventure film, with cool effects. It was filmed in New York, which served as another cool cast member of the film. New York filmed movies are always a treat to the theatergoers if done right, like this one. Nicolas Cage was a good Master sorcerer. He has a great look too and was played the part with entertaining charisma. I can see his sorcerer look becoming a Halloween favorite. Jay Baruchel played the nerdy apprentice to the tee. He was charming too. Alfred Molina is a great character actor and was a perfect choice for the bad guy Horvath. What I thought was interesting was the part of the evil sorceress Morgana played by actress Alice Krige, was also the evil Borg Queen in Star Trek: First Contact (1996). Hmmm, two Star Trek references in one blog, nerd alert! I guess Alice Krige plays baddies well. After seeing the intense and emotional serious movie Inception, The Sorcerer’s Apprentice (2010) was a great escape with more humor. Wanna have fun at the movies? See this film.

Till next week, – Spartan Phoenix

Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  89

  • February        2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 16
  • May                  2010: Movies Seen: 18
  • June                 2010: Movies Seen: 19
  • July                  2010: Movies Seen: 10
0 Responses to “Inception, A Message For Leo / The Sorcerer’s Apprentice”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

