27
Jul
10

The Girl Who Played With Fire, And Salt

The Girl Who Played With Fire, And Salt

July 26th 2010

As my Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon Man year long experiment is about to reach the halfway point I’m realizing that I feel like I’m running out of movies to see or there are less major studio movies being released this year. However there are a good amount of independent films being released. The only problem, its more difficult to do an all day marathon at an independent movie theater house than a AMC or Regal theater chain. The main reason of course is that there are fewer screens to sneak around too. But the independent movies need love too and I’m here to support them. Today I planned to see a major studio release in a major movie chain and then go to a smaller theater to see a foreign independent release.

Today I went to a 14-screen AMC theater today to see the first movie at 10:40am. This theater isn’t in my top 5 theaters here in the Atlanta area, but the show times were in my favor and this AMC was only 5 minutes away from the smaller theater I had plans to go to later. The film I went to go see this morning was Salt (2010) starring Angelina Jolie, Liev Schreiber and Chiwetel Ejiofor. As a CIA officer, starring Angelina Jolie’s character Evelyn Salt swore an oath to duty, honor and country. Her loyalty will be tested when a defector accuses her of being a Russian spy. This movie was what I expected to see. I would call it an action thriller. The move is about 90 minutes and this was the perfect running time. At times this film felt like it was running in real time, which is what made this film very fun to watch. This reminded me of the adrenaline rush I would get as a fan of the TV series “24” (2001).  As expected Angelina Jolie did not disappoint. She can act and kick some ass, which is what she did very well in this movie. This movie had its twist and turns. I’m proud to say that I guessed the twist in this film way before it happened, cause I rock that way. One of my favorite things about this film was actor Liev Schreiber. Not only is this guy a great actor, he steals the spotlight from his co-stars. He also has a great voice, which can be heard as the narrator in the wonderful History Channel series America: The Story of Us”. Angelina Jolie was surrounded by a good cast of actors. Chiwetel Ejiofor who plays an agent chasing Salt shined as well. This was a good summer film go check it out.

My plan was to see another film after Salt, like Inception or Knight and Day. Both films I have already seen of course. But today was a beautiful day, hot, but still beautiful. I had an urge to get a good bike ride in later today. So after one movie at this theater I left to catch an earlier showing at 1:15pm at the smaller theater to see The Girl Who Played with Fire (2009) starring Noomi Rapace, Michael Nyqvist. This movie is the second film of the movie trilogy inspired by author Stieg Larsson‘s hugely popular crime books know as the “Millennium” Trilogy. The trilogy started with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2009). You can see my earlier blog post about that movie here:

https://spartanphoenix.wordpress.com/2010/06/05/prince-of-persia%e2%80%99s-sex-in-the-city-the-girl-with-the-dragon-tattoo/

The third and yet to be released film of this trilogy is called The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest (2009). I must clarify; this foreign trilogy has been released in its native country Sweden and parts of Europe. It looks that the US releases of this films are to be spread out during this year of 2010. I did not read the books at all, come on, you should now that by now, I’m a movie guy. I don’t have time for reading books. I really liked the first film of the trilogy: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. The series caught my interest when I found the book on my girlfriend’s shelf and a co-worker who read the book went on how great it was. After seeing the second movie The Girl Who Played with Fire today, I’m hooked. These movies are great thrillers. This movie continues the harrowing adventures of computer hacker Lisbeth Salander and journalist Mikael Blomkvist who investigate a sex-trafficking ring, Lisbeth is accused of three murders, causing her to go on the run while Mikael works to clear her name. The suspense and intrigue in these films keep you glued to your seat (unless of course you have to take a huge piss after drinking a large diet coke from a previous movie theater visit). The main actors: Noomi Rapace as Lisbeth Salander and Michael Nyqvist as Mikael Blomkvist are both riveting in their respective roles. These are foreign films with subtitles, but that didn’t take away anything for me like it does with many US English speaking movie fans. As I mentioned before there is an English major studio remake in the works for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, which is scheduled to be released in 2011. It is to be directed by David Fincher and will star current 007 Bond star Daniel Craig as Mikael Blomkvist. Check out these Swedish films people, its good filmmaking and a lot of fun!

 Stay tuned; I’ve got a “Top 101 Movie List” coming out shortly. Stay teased!

 Your movie nerd,

 –          Spartan Phoenix

Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  91

  • February           2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 16
  • May                  2010: Movies Seen: 18
  • June                 2010: Movies Seen: 19
  • July                  2010: Movies Seen: 12
Leave a Reply

