24
Aug
10

Piranha 3D and Vampires Suck! 3D HD Movie Marathon!

Piranha 3D and Vampires Suck! 3D HD Movie Marathon!

Friday August 20th, 2010

Today I had an opportunity that I wanted to take advantage of. Since I have been doing this Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon Man Blog yearlong experiment I have been trying to do new weird and fun things I haven’t done before involving my movie addiction. Today I wanted to include a mini marathon with in a marathon. I planned a mini 3D movie marathon with in my regular scheduled 6-movie marathon I panned today. I ended up seeing three 3-D movies in a row. I planned for four, but I fucked up.

The first movie of the day started at 10:30am. The movie I saw was Vampires Suck (2010) starring Jenn Proske, Matt Lanter, Diedrich Bader and Ken Jeong. This is a spoof of the vampire themed Twilight movies. This movie spends most of its 80-minute running time making fun of the Twilight movies. They did an ok job poking fun at these movies. I would say half of the gags were funny and spot on. But the other half fell short. I love seeing spoof films. My only problem with these spoofs is that the always seem to fall short at the end. The ending of this Vampire spoof film did just that. When your making fun of a film franchise I guess it difficult to wrap of the ending when you’re trying to piece together one gag skit after another.  I know going into this film that most of the spoofing was going to be on the Twilight films. But I was hoping to see more fun made of “True Blood” (2008), “The Vampire Diaries” (2009), past vamp flick classics, etc. But this wasn’t the case. There was only one small gag each devoted to “True Blood” (2008) and “The Vampire Diaries” (2009), both of which were disappointing. They did do a good job casting the character look-a-likes for this film. But overall I found this film a little disappointing.

After Vampires Suck my intention was to start my mini 3D movie marathon within a marathon. As you may know I pay for my first movie, then afterwards I move from theater to theater seeing other movies on my scheduled movie marathon. I do this with 3D movie too so I don’t always have to pay the inflated costs on the extra 3D charge to the movie ticket. I get around this by bringing my own 3D movie glasses. I was planning on seeing IMAX: Hubble 3D (2010). It’s a documentary about an IMAX 3D camera chronicles the effort of 7 astronauts aboard the Space Shuttle Atlantis to repair the Hubble Space Telescope. My only problem was I forgot to bring my IMAX 3D glasses; instead I brought my regular 3D glasses. Doh! What a dumb ass I am. So I didn’t see the IMAX: Hubble 3D movie. Instead I went to see The Expendables (2010. I saw The Expendables last week and really enjoyed this movie and it was worth seeing again.

So now my mini 3D movie marathon within a marathon was about to begin. Despicable Me (2010) was the first movie I saw in 3D today. This movie was just as entertaining the 2nd time around. This was one of those movies I recommended before to see it in 3D if you can. It’s a funny, sweet, clever and a visually very entertaining film.

The next 3D film I saw was Piranha 3D (2010) starring Elisabeth Shue, Jerry O’Connell, Ving Rhames, Christopher Lloyd, Jessica Szohr and Steven R. McQueen (Grandson of actor Steve McQueen ). It also has cameos from Richard Dreyfuss and Eli Roth. After a sudden underwater tremor sets free scores of the prehistoric man-eating fish, an unlikely group of strangers must band together to stop themselves from becoming fish food for the area’s new razor-toothed residents. Richard Dreyfuss makes his cameo as his character he made famous in the original Jaws (1975). This movie was a lot of campy fun! Keep this in mind when or if you see it. Don’t take this movie seriously but enjoy it for what it is. For you guys out there I’m giving this movie a major “boobie alert”. This movie has gratuitous violence, nudity, violence and more nudity. Also I have to give this movie props for some of its creative death scenes, they were very entertaining and at some times very funny. The most entertaining character in this film was Derrick Jones played by Jerry O’Connell (The chubby kid in Stand by Me). Jerry O’Connell’s character was based on “Girls Gone Wild” founder and multi millionaire Joe Francis. Jerry’s character seems to be a little more of an exaggerated version of Joe Francis, but who knows, maybe he played him to a tee. Maybe that’s why Joe Francis is threatening a real defamatory lawsuit against the makers of Piranha 3D. Check out these links for more info on this subject:

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20100820/film_nm/us_piranha

http://geeksofdoom.com/2010/08/20/girls-gone-wild-founder-joe-francis-threatens-lawsuit-on-piranha-3d/

I would seem that this type of press will be nothing but good for Piranha 3D. So go in fact that it did well opening weekend and the studio has green lit a sequel already. I hope the sequel has more cameos, and boobs. Boobs are good.

The last 3D film of the mini movie marathon with in a marathon was Step Up 3D (2010). I saw this movie last week in 3D. Like I said before I don’t know what it is about these dance films I find so appealing and fun. But I can say I enjoyed the movie even more the second time around. The dance props and gimmicks they use in this movie really lend well to the 3D format. I admit it; I got wrapped up emotionally in this movie again. I’m not going to say much more on that subject cause I’m a hetero dude and it sounds a little gay. Do yourself a favor and have fun at the movies and see this movie in 3D.

There is one is more thing I wanted to say about seeing 3D movies in the theater. The 3D movies playing at theaters nowadays are in high-definition picture quality. You can totally tell the difference when you compare a non-3D movie to a 3D version. I have a HD TV and Blu-ray player at home so I can tell the difference. Oh and incase you were wondering, during my three straight 3D movie marathon, I didn’t have any seizures, head aches or hankerings to gouge my eyes out with a spork.

The last film of the day for my movie marathon I saw was Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (2010). This was another movie I saw last week that was worth seeing again. This movie is funny as shit. Its one of the most original films I’ve seen all year. It has a great cast, great editing, and a great script and is overall an awesomely entertaining film. GO SEE IT!

Till next time movie nerds!

–          Spartan Phoenix

Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  110

  • February        2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 16
  • May                  2010: Movies Seen: 18
  • June                 2010: Movies Seen: 19
  • July                  2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • August             2010: Movies Seen: 17
0 Responses to “Piranha 3D and Vampires Suck! 3D HD Movie Marathon!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

