07
Sep
10

Avatar Special Extended Edition 3D IMAX / The Switch / Lottery Ticket

Avatar Special Extended Edition 3D IMAX / The Switch / Lottery Ticket

I’ve been a little late in submitting some recent movie blogs lately. I’ve been preoccupied with Dragon-Con of this past Labor Day weekend. Here is a link to that event: http://www.dragoncon.org/ More on that later as I will share my adventures with you on a future Spartan Phoenix blog. Now lets get caught up.

Wednesday August 25, 2010

The first movie I saw today in my Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon was the comedy The Switch (2010) starring Jennifer Aniston, Jason Bateman, Jeff Goldblum, Juliette Lewis, Patrick Wilson and Thomas Robinson as the cute neurotic kid Sebastian. Its about an unmarried 40-year-old woman turns to a turkey baster in order to become pregnant. Seven years later, she reunites with her best friend, who has been living with a secret: he replaced her preferred sperm sample with his own. Although Jennifer Aniston gets top billing here cause she’s the main A-list star of the film, this movie really belongs to Jason Bateman. Jason is very funny in this film and commands every scene he is in. Thomas Robinson who plays the neurotic “is he my son” kid was perfectly cast. This wasn’t a great film, but it was funny enough to keep me entertained. But if it weren’t for, Jason Bateman it would be a failure.

The second movie I saw today was the Lottery Ticket (2010) starring Bow Wow, Brandon T. Jackson, Naturi Naughton, Loretta Devine, Ice Cube, Keith David, and Terry Crews.  Kevin Carson is a young man living in the projects who has to survive a three-day weekend after his opportunistic neighbors find out he’s holding a winning lottery ticket worth $370 million. This movie had a great supporting cast of very funny characters. No acting awards here but it was very funny. It was nice to see Ice Cube in a different role. He plays an old retired sparring boxer to plays a wise “Yoda” mentor type to the lead played by Bow Wow. What I also liked about this movie was that it was filmed in my current hometown of Atlanta and it was cool to see the city as a backdrop. This movie was fun, but predictable, it had a moral message and also teaches you of what not to do when you find out you just won the lottery.

Today I was only in the mood for a short marathon of two or three movies. Before I left I decided to see one more, the third of the day. I went to see The Other Guys (2010) again. This movie was so funny the first time around I knew I had to see it again. The whole cast was hilarious. Seeing it again I notices gags I missed the first time around.

Thursday August 26th, 2010 Midnight

When Avatar was released at the end of last year (December) I went to see the midnight premiere with my girlfriend. When it was released hadn’t started my Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon Man Blog yet. When I did start my blog back in February of this year (2010) I mentioned several times I had seen Avatar again. Back then I had heard that Avatar would be released again towards the end summer but with additional new scenes not in the original theatrical release. When Avatar was released on DVD and Blu-ray last March (2010) I had also heard that later in the fall this extended version of Avatar would be released on DVD and Blu-ray. I refused to waste money on the standard original theatrical version DVD / Blu-Ray and wait for the extended one coming this fall. You can read that blog post here:

So on midnight, 12:01am August 26th/27th Avatar Extended Special Edition (2010) was released. For those of you living under a rock the last six months it stars Sam Worthington, Zoe Saldana, Sigourney Weaver and Stephen Lang. It’s about a paraplegic marine dispatched to the moon Pandora on a unique mission becomes torn between following his orders and protecting the world he feels is his home. I contacted my work buddy David and see if he wanted to go on this “man date” and see the midnight premiere of the new extended Avatar. He was in. I had bought my tickets the day before when I did my previous movie marathon the day before. I wasn’t sure if it was gonna be crowded or not. When we got there I found the answer. This midnight premiere was pretty dead in crowd capacity if you ask me. There was about 15 to 20 total people that showed for this event. More people showed up for the midnight premiere for The Last Exorcism (2010) in the theater next door.

*Spoiler Alert*

Now, this theater is a “converted” IMAX theater, not a true IMAX theater. However it’s still a great screen with an awesome sound system. It was nice to see the 3D trailers for TRON: Legacy (2010) and Resident Evil: Afterlife (2010). When the opening scene of Avatar started with the main character awaking from a five yearlong space sleep I have to admit I got a little excited schoolboy tingle. It was visually awesome to see Avatar on the big screen again. It was also cool looking forward to the extra 8 to 9 minutes that were added to this special extended version. There were many tiny extra scene of a few seconds added to previous scenes in the original theatrical version. There were three new scenes that I really liked in this new Special Edition. The first was when Sam Worthington’s character Jake Sully goes on his first mission in his new Avatar body. He and his crew commanded by Sigourney Weaver’s character come across the remains of a school that Sigourney Weaver’s character had taught the indigenous Navi. The second added scene was a Navi hunting scene that Jake Sully takes part in. This scene was cool cause it introduced a new beast of burden animal. The third scene that was a nice addition was after the first skirmish between the Navi and the Earth Marines. You got to see the destruction caused by the Navi on one of the Earth Marines Forest tanks. Overall I thought the additional scenes fit well into the movie and all made sense. They didn’t feel out of place at all. I recommend this extended version over the original theatrical version. I will be buying the extended version on Blu-ray. This does not surprise those of you who know me at all I’m sure. I’m almost certain that Avatar will make my top 10 in my 2011 top 101 movies of all time list.

On a side note August has been a good movie month. I beat my previous monthly movie record from 19 to 21 movies seen.

Stay tuned….  Spartan Phoenix

Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  114

  • February        2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 16
  • May                  2010: Movies Seen: 18
  • June                 2010: Movies Seen: 19
  • July                  2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • August             2010: Movies Seen: 21 
1 Response to “Avatar Special Extended Edition 3D IMAX / The Switch / Lottery Ticket”


  1. October 3, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    Maybe the most influential read I have read all month!!

    Yours Truly,
    Gus


Leave a Reply

