24
Sep
10

Resident Evil: Afterlife 3D IMAX / New AMC Soda Machines Rock! / Lindsay Lohan boobage Update!

Resident Evil: Afterlife 3D IMAX / New AMC  Coke Soda Machines Rock! / Lindsay Lohan boobage Update!

September 15th, 2010

My Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon Man yearlong experiment continues to role along. This seems to be the year of 3D. And I have pledged to see all the 3D movies that are to be released during my yearlong mission. Also if a movie is in 3D and in IMAX 3D I will opt to see the IMAX 3D over the regular 3D showing. Also, today was my birthday so I thought I would treat myself the way I know how. Yeah I know, pathetic. But hey it’s what I know. With that said here we go!

Resident Evil: Afterlife 3D IMAX (2010) starring Milla Jovovich, Ali Larter, Kim Coates, Wentworth Miller, Spencer Locke, and Boris Kodjoe. While still out to destroy the evil Umbrella Corporation, Alice (Milla Jovovich) joins a group of survivors who want to relocate to the mysterious but supposedly unharmed safe haven known only as Arcadia. My friend David saw Resident Evil: Afterlife and then posted on his Facebook page “So Milla Jovavich has been hot for like 3 decades now. Discuss.” I have to agree with my friend David here. Not only has she been hot for so long will continue to be. Check out the movie Kuffs (1992) and you will see what I mean. She’s been in cool movies and plays chicks that kick ass too. She’s now done four Resident Evil films, with an obvious fifth one on the way. She also kicked ass in one of my favorite films of all time The Fifth Element (1997). She’s a good actor too. I’m a big fan of these Resident Evil films. They have a lot of action and killin’ zombies! This fourth installment was a lot of fun. Visually it was awesome. I saw this movie in 3D IMAX. There were a few scenes that were very Matrixy, but the 3D special effects added to the action scenes were very entertaining. There was a great fight scene between Milla’s character and a very tall and large zombie with the biggest hammer axe type weapon I have ever seen. The other thing I liked about this film was other returning characters in this film, which included Ali Larter and Spencer Locke. It’s nice when there is a continuity story line in zombie films! Thanks to my friend David again for giving me a heads up on Amazon Blu-Ray box set of the week. And this past week cheap price special was the Resident Evil Trilogy set. A click here and a click there, it’s now mine. Booyah!

Stomp the Yard 2: Homecoming (2010) starring Keith David, Collins Pennie, Columbus Short, Kiely Williams and Tika Sumpter. It’s about a kid who looks to find a balance between his school, work, relationships and opportunity to perform at the nationally televised step competition during homecoming weekend at his university. As I’ve said before I’m a closeted fan of these dance movies. I saw the original Stomp the Yard (2007) when it came out. I thought it was ok, not as good as the Step Up films, I would say the same for this sequel. This theater was the only place playing this movie, which I thought was a little weird. During the course of the movie I noticed how dark the movie was, not the subject matter but how dark the lighting was throughout the entire movie. I sat in the back row of the theater and decided to take a closer look at the projector system. I noticed the regular projector wasn’t playing this film. It looked like the machine that was playing movie, was a DVD copy. I could be wrong here but that’s what it looked like to me. There was some great stomp dancing in this film. The best part of this film for me was actor Keith David. Not matter what I see him in (and I’ve seen him in lots of TV and movie roles) he always commands the screen. He’s one of the best-underrated actors out there. He also has a great speaking voice, which is why he has a great career doing voice over roles too. As for this move, if it’s your thing, watch the real dvd at home.

The next and last movie of my marathon today I saw was Machete (2010), again. After seeing it for the first time last week I knew I was gonna see it again. Hey it had too much blood, bombs, bullets, and boobies for one sitting. Oh and for my dude buddies out there Lindsay Lohan may show some side boobage in this film, but the full frontal she shows in the pool scene (The chick on the left in the picture) was not she. It was what we call “stunt boobage”. Sorry guys it’s not her.

New AMC Coke Soda Machines = Awesome!

Recently my favorite AMC multiplex theater installed new soda machines on the front side of the concession stand for the customers to do their own refills. Now these aren’t your regular soda machines. These new machine allow you to make up to 106 drink choices of your own. The first time I saw this type of new soda machine was at a Wendy’s fast food joint across the street from my place of employment. I have to tell you that these new Coke soda machines rock! These machines have your Coke’s, Mr Pibb’s, Fanta’s, Barq’s, Dasani water’s, Hi C, Power Aid, Sprite, and Vault. Since I’m a Diet Coke drinker I can get the flavors of raspberry, orange, vanilla, cherry, lime in my diet coke. My favorite is the raspberry. After my first movie I will refill usually with the orange. The best thing is the convenience of refilling your large soda without having to wait inline at the concession stand. You get free refills on your large soda and popcorn anyways so this is very cool. However I burn through my soda allot faster than my popcorn. If you haven’t tried one of these yet, find one and give it a shot.

Next time I’ll tell you about Easy A, The Town and Get Low. Stay tuned movie nerds!

– Spartan Phoenix

Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  121

  • February           2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 16
  • May                  2010: Movies Seen: 18
  • June                 2010: Movies Seen: 19
  • July                  2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • August             2010: Movies Seen: 21
  • September       2010: Movies Seen: 7
2 Responses to “Resident Evil: Afterlife 3D IMAX / New AMC Soda Machines Rock! / Lindsay Lohan boobage Update!”


  1. 1 Kafka
    September 24, 2010 at 8:23 am

    Let me get this straight. Lohan will do near full frontal for a VF dress up (or down as the case may be) as Marilyn Monroe but can’t do a straight tit seen for Machete? What kind of nonsense is this? She needs the cash man!


Leave a Reply

