26
Sep
10

The Town, Easy A, Flipped, Get Low, Alpha And Omega 3D = Death By Spork

The Town, Easy A, Flipped, Get Low, Alpha And Omega 3D = Death By Spork

Tuesday September 21st 2010

It was date night tonight. My girl Jane and I went to the movies tonight. Here is a good example of relationship influence. When I started dating Jane she was not much of a moviegoer. She said she might have gone “out” to the movies only 15 to 20 times before in her lifetime. Well…. Since Jane and I have been dating last year she and I have gone to 26 movies together. Jane hasn’t gone out to the movies with out me too. I’m so proud of her current movie tally. There is more in her near future. Don’t worry I’m keeping tabs of her movie adventures too. More on that later.

For tonight’s date night we went to see Easy A (2010) starring Emma Stone, Dan Byrd, Penn Badgley, Amanda Bynes, Patricia Clarkson, Stanley Tucci, Thomas Haden Church, Lisa Kudrow and Malcolm McDowell. After a little white lie about losing her virginity gets out, a clean-cut high school girl (Emma Stone) sees her life paralleling “The Scarlet Letter,” which she is currently studying in school – until she decides to use the rumor mill to advance her social and financial standing. I think this movie will be Emma Stone’s break movie. After this as an actor she will be in great demand. There are rumors that she is being considered the lead role in the new Spider-Man movie. Emma Stone’s big break came in the movie Superbad (2007) which was hilarious. She then got cool roles in movies like The Rocker (2008), The House Bunny (2008), Ghosts of Girlfriends Past (2009) and Zombieland (2009). Not only is this girl cute, she has professional comedic timing. This movie was very funny for many reasons. Not only was Emma Stone’s character a lot of fun to watch, her character’s reference to 80’s John Hughes teen angst films was fun for us fans of that movie era. Also her parents played by Patricia Clarkson and Stanley Tucci was funny scene-stealers. This movie was thoroughly enjoyable to see with my girl Jane. Also this flick was a great escape for both of us, which is what we needed at that time.

Wednesday September 22nd 2010

Today I was giving a new AMC theater a “test drive” I went to this theater the night before with Jane when we went to go see Easy A (2010). It’s a little smaller than my favorite AMC 24 screen, but it has a great advantage that most Regal theaters don’t have, early start times in off-season hours. When the summer ends many movie theaters stop the early AM before noon shows. Most shows start around noon. This presents a problem for me when I want to do an all day marathon. This AMC had movies start as early as 9:45am. Nice.

The first movie I saw today was The Town (2010) directed by Ben Affleck. Starring Ben Affleck, Rebecca Hall, Jon Hamm, Jeremy Renner, Blake Lively, Pete Postlethwaite and Chris Cooper. Its about a bank robber (Ben Affleck) who plans his next job, but struggles to balance his feelings for a bank manager connected to one of his earlier heists, as well as the FBI agent looking to bring him and his crew down. OK, Ben Affleck gets a lot of flack for not being a good actor, which is true in some cases. However he is becoming a good director. This may be his calling. If you doubt me then I suggest you see his earlier turn as a director for the movie Gone Baby Gone (2007) and this new one The Town (2010). Both of these movies are very good dramatic movies. The Town (2010) has more action, and has a great supporting cast including Jeremy Renner who recently won a best actor Academy Award for his role in the movie The Hurt Locker (2008). I was impressed with this movie. I also though Ben Affleck’s acting chops weren’t bad in this movie too. I highly recommend this movie. I had high expectations for this film and it was nice that they were all satisfied. Good job Ben. By the way, your wife is one hot MILF.

Ok, as I have said before during my yearlong experiment adventure known as this Spartan Phoenix Movie marathon Man Blog, I have also pledged to see all 3D movies to be released. Unfortunately that included my next movie called Alpha and Omega (2010) 3D starring the voice talents of Justin Long, Hayden Panettiere, Dennis Hopper and Danny Glover. It’s about two young Canadian wolves at opposite ends of their pack’s social order are captured by the park’s rangers and sent to an Idaho park as part of a wolf repopulation project. They hatch a plan to escape and return home. Kids will enjoy this film but grown-ups will want to poke their eyes out with a plastic Spork. I rolled my eyes back into my skull when the wolves started doing a lame dance sequence that you could see on a reject reel for America’s Got Talent. If you are over 18, avoid this movie and take a nap instead. This is what I wish I did.

The third movie of my marathon today was Flipped (2010) starring Madeline Carroll, Callan McAuliffe, Rebecca De Mornay, Anthony Edwards, John Mahoney, Penelope Ann Miller andAidan Quinn. Directed by Rob Reiner. This movie takes place during the 1950’s. It’s a fun coming of age flick about two eighth graders who start to have feelings for each other despite being total opposites. This movie is a perfect introduction to the adolescent war between the sexes.  This movie was refreshing to see after the kid’s movie torture I went through in the last film I saw. This movie was wonderfully directed by Rob Reiner who is more famously know for helming movies like Sleepless in Seattle (1993), A Few Good Men (1992), When Harry Met Sally… (1989), and my favorites The Princess Bride (1987) and The American President (1995). The two young cast members (Madeline Carroll and Callan McAuliffe) playing the smitten kids were enjoyable to watch. Equally enjoyable were the kids family co-stars. Seeing movies like makes me want to find a DeLorean with a Flux Capacitor and go back in time and start over.

The last movie of today’s movie marathon was Get Low (2009) starring Robert Duvall, Sissy Spacek, Bill Murray, Gerald McRaney and Lucas Black. This movie was based on a true story and real-life legend about the mysterious, 1930s Tennessee hermit who famously threw his own funeral party… while he was still alive. This movie was the reason I gave this AMC Theater a “test drive” Not many theaters were playing this movie. When I first saw the trailer for this movie the story really intrigued me. This movie was great. It was very funny and charming. Bill Murray very enjoyable as he played the owner of the funeral home that helps Robert Duvall’s character throw his funeral party before he dies. But make no mistakes this movie was all Robert Duvall. Everything I see Robert Duvall in makes me take notice on this American acting legend. I don’t think he gets the props and praise he deserves. The older he gets, the better he gets. And he has always been a great actor. Do yourself a favor and see the movie Open Range (2003), which is one of my favorite westerns of all time. Robert Duvall should have received an Oscar nod for that role. Robert Duvall’s character in Get Low is shrouded in mystery as the town folks recall stories of his rumored past dastardly deeds. The movie suspense builds up to the end when you get the truth at his funeral party that the town attends. Awesome movie and wonderfully acted. Check it out.

By the way, this AMC Theater passed my test drive with flying colors. I will be coming here again.

That’s it for this week; stay tuned for more movie nerdness! – Spartan Phoenix

Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  126

  • February           2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 16
  • May                  2010: Movies Seen: 18
  • June                 2010: Movies Seen: 19
  • July                  2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • August             2010: Movies Seen: 21
  • September       2010: Movies Seen: 12
0 Responses to “The Town, Easy A, Flipped, Get Low, Alpha And Omega 3D = Death By Spork”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

