24
Oct
10

The Social Network / Red / Jackass 3D / Life As We Know It

The Social Network / Red / Jackass 3D / Life As We Know It

Saturday October 9th,

So I’m a little behind on movie review blogs to an unwanted dental tooth extraction that started with pain and a very bad swollen mouth. This kept me out of the loop for a week. Thanks to Jane for taking care of my big baby ass. When it comes to the dentist I’m a big fat baby. So lets get back on track.

The first movie for this weeks blog is The Social Network (2010) starring Jesse Eisenberg, Rooney Mara (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), Andrew Garfield (Untitled Spider-Man Reboot) and Justin Timberlake. Written by Aaron Sorkin (The West Wing) Directed by David Fincher (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Se7en, Fight Club) In 2003, Harvard undergrad and computer programming genius Mark Zuckerberg begins working on a new idea. In what begins in his dorm room soon becomes a global social network and a revolution in communication. A mere six years and 500 million friends later, Mark Zuckerberg is the youngest billionaire in history… but for this entrepreneur, success leads to both personal and legal complications. This movie is popular for one reason; 1 in 13 people on the planet Earth are on Facebook. This movie was disappointing in my opinion. It didn’t have the drama, intrigue or anything exciting. The subject matter was interesting and there was some good acting by Andrew Garfield who is gonna be your next Spiderman and Rooney Mara who will be the new (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo). The thing that bothered me was the movie made Mark Zuckerberg out as a douchbag. I don’t think he was portrayed right by Jesse Eisenberg. Although Jesse Eisenberg’s acting was good I don’t think the role was actuate. There was one last thing that bugged my about this film. Although the dialog was written well because of Aaron Sorkin, it felt like I was watching a 2-hour TV movie special instead of a theatrical movie. It seems blah. I wish there was more David Fincher and less Aaron Sorkin. Here is an interesting picture comparison of the actors and the real people they portrayed.

Tuesday October 19th, 2010

Red (2010) starring Bruce Willis, Mary-Louise Parker, Karl Urban, Morgan Freeman, John Malkovich and Helen Mirren. When his idyllic life is threatened by a high-tech assassin, former black-ops agent Frank Moses reassembles his old team in a last ditch effort to survive. This movie was a lot of fun from start to finish. It has a great cast. John Malkovich was my favorite in this film. It was also cool to see Mary-Louise Parker play someone interesting and intriguing on-screen as her character on the TV show Weeds. This movie had a good blend of action, humor and intrigue. Bruce Willis commands the character he plays. The other character that stood out was the agent played by New Zealand born Karl Urban that pursues Bruce Willis. Karl Urban is a stand out actor that can be recently seen in movies like Star Trek (2009), The Bourne Supremacy and as Eomer in the Lord of the Rings sequels. Red is a fun movie for all. Check it out!

Jackass 3D (2010) starring Johnny Knoxville, Bam Margera and Steve-O. Can you believe that Jackass 3D (2010) made 50 million dollars in its opening weekend? I was shocked when I heard this stat. But I guess like me everyone wanted to see these silly and gross out stunts in 3D. I have to say I guiltily enjoyed this film. It was very funny. Some of the stunts fell flat for me, but most of them were funny and entertaining to see. I have one question though; if you can intelligently answer this for me please let me know. What make these guys professionals? Each of these movies claims these are professional stunts performed by experts and that you and your idiot friends shouldn’t duplicate them at home. So what makes them professionals? Do they have “stunt man” licensees? Do real stuntmen train them? If you know this answer please let me know. The move is not a must see in 3D. There are a few slow motion scenes that are cool to see in 3D and are very funny. But the 2D version should be just as entertaining. I’ve hear rumors that there will be another Jackass movie pushed out sooner than you think due to the fast success of Jackass 3D (2010).

Life as We Know It (2010) starring Katherine Heigl, Josh Duhamel and Josh Lucas. Two single adults become caregivers to an orphaned girl when their mutual best friends die in an accident. Katherine Heigl continues her romantic comedy movie string. She is charming and cute in this film. But I would like to see her break out in more of a dramatic or action type of role. Here romantic comedy characters are becoming formulaic. Josh Duhamel was hansom charming and hunky as usual. He can pull off the romantic comedy lead, but I’m glad he’s doing action films too. This film was only interesting for me cause it was filmed in Atlanta so it was cool to see some of the locations I drive by often in the film. Overall the film was boring. I ended up falling asleep at the end of the film until I heard the closing credits rolling to someone’s slow cover of “Sweet Child O Mine”. As I was leaving the theater I had to ask a couple what happened at the end of the film? It ended as I predicted, no surprises here, but that’s OK, especially for romantic comedies, they should end with happy endings.

Next time I’ve got Secretariat, Hereafter and Back to the Future baby! Stay tuned!

– Spartan Phoenix

Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  138

  • February           2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 16
  • May                  2010: Movies Seen: 18
  • June                 2010: Movies Seen: 19
  • July                  2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • August             2010: Movies Seen: 21
  • September       2010: Movies Seen: 17
  • October           2010: Movies Seen: 7
1 Response to “The Social Network / Red / Jackass 3D / Life As We Know It”


  1. 1 Dan
    October 24, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    When I first saw the trailer for Social Network I honestly thought it was going to be on Lifetime Network or something so your review confirms my gut reaction. Most of the crits are praising the movie. I’ll probably catch it on DVD.


Leave a Reply

