13
Nov
10

Megamind / Due Date / Paranormal Activity 2 / Sucker Punch

Megamind / Due Date / Paranormal Activity 2 / Sucker Punch

As November starts to roll along so does the winter weather and the push for holiday movie blockbusters. Holiday movie season has always been appealing for me. In a way it’s like the summer movie blockbuster push by the major movie studios, but during Thanksgiving and Christmas. For me it’s become a tradition to go to the movies on Thanksgiving and or Christmas because big movies are released on these days. I’m very much looking forward to this movie holiday season.

Tuesday November 9th, 2010

Today’s first movie was the IMAX 3D showing of Megamind (2010) starring the voice talents of: Will Ferrell, Brad Pitt, Tina Fey and Jonah Hill. The super villain Megamind finally conquers his nemesis, the hero Metro Man… but finds his life pointless without a hero to fight. This movie was awesome to see in 3D especially on the IMAX screen. My only problem was that it wasn’t as funny as I thought it would be. But it was still very entertaining. The best part of the film for me was the character Roxanne Ritchi voiced by Tina Fey. Tina Fey‘s delivery of her characters lines was spot on and very funny. Not to mention, but her character Roxanne Ritchi was pretty hot in CG animation, it was kind of distracting actually, in a tingle down there good way.

The next film I saw was Due Date (2010) starring: Robert Downey Jr., Zach Galifianakis, Michelle Monaghan and Jamie Foxx. High-strung father-to-be Peter Highman (Robert Downey Jr.) is forced to hitch a ride with aspiring actor Ethan Tremblay (Zach Galifianakis) on a road trip in order to make it to his child’s birth on time. And of course the road trip turns into a trip from hell for Peter. This movie was directed by Todd Phillips who directed last years big comedy hit The Hangover, and other hits like Old School and Road Trip. Zach Galifianakis who also starred in The Hangover was somewhat funny in this film but he’s being typecast as the same weird dorky bearded dude in everything I’m seeing him in nowadays. This movie was disappointing cause I wanted a Road Trip 2 type of movie but didn’t get it. I found myself feeling sorry for Robert Downey Jr.’s character instead of laughing along with him. The movie took too many serious turns instead of staying lighthearted and funny. This movie falls short, wait for video if you must see it.

The next movie I saw was Paranormal Activity 2 (2010) starring Brian Boland, Molly Ephraim, Sprague Grayden and Katie Featherston. After experiencing what they think are a series of “break-ins”, a family sets up security cameras around their home, only to realize that the events unfolding before them are more sinister than they seem. I was curious about seeing these movies but as I have mentioned before I’m not much of a horror movie fan. But I had a different feeling about these films. It wasn’t for my friend Frank at work I wouldn’t have entertained the thought of seeing these films. But I was told that I must see the first one Paranormal Activity (2007) before Paranormal Activity 2 because of the related story line and characters. So the night before I saw Paranormal Activity 2 I saw Paranormal Activity. I did enjoy the first one and was looking forward to seeing the second one. After seeing the second one I actually liked it better than the first one. The second one does a great job extending the story line and giving a back-story plot line. I don’t know if the writers from the first film had a story written beyond the first film at the time of its release not knowing it was gonna be a hit. But the continuing story was very cool and I think the second one was creepier too. Again my only problem like most films was that a trailer I had seen for this movie showed a scene not in the film when it was released. I hate when that do that. These are good movies and I recommend them. Especially since this second movie ends with the doors wide open for a third film.

Every now and then I like to give you guys a heads up a movie trailer for an upcoming film not yet showing in the theaters. The trailer I speak of this time is the movie Sucker Punch (2011) starring: Emily Browning, Vanessa Hudgens and Carla Gugino. Its about a girls wicked stepfather institutionalizes her. Retreating to an alternative reality as a coping strategy, she envisions a plan, which will help her escape from the facility. My nerd radar is on big time for this film for many reasons. First off, it got hot chicks blowing shit up. Its directed by Zack Snyder who also directed kick ass films like Watchmen, 300 and is directing the new Superman: Man of Steel. After seeing the trailer it looks like Vanessa Hudgens is trying to shed off her squeaky clean High School Musical Disney kid clone persona by playing one of the kick ass chicks in this film. Check out the trailer here and tell me if your nerd radar doesn’t go off: http://www.imdb.com/video/imdb/vi107256089/

I see more movies than you so stay tuned! – Spartan Phoenix

Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  148

  • February           2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 16
  • May                  2010: Movies Seen: 18
  • June                 2010: Movies Seen: 19
  • July                  2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • August             2010: Movies Seen: 21
  • September       2010: Movies Seen: 17
  • October           2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • November       2010: Movies Seen: 3
1 Response to “Megamind / Due Date / Paranormal Activity 2 / Sucker Punch”


  1. November 29, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    Very insightful post, will have to tell my friends to come visit and reap this gem of knowledge. Amazing epistemological contribution.


Leave a Reply

