28
Nov
10

Tangled / Love and Other Drugs / Faster / Burlesque / The Next Three Days

Tangled / Love and Other Drugs / Faster / Burlesque / The Next Three Days

Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 25th, 2010

Today was Thanksgiving. For my Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon Man Blog I knew I had to include my Thanksgiving Day tradition. I spent it with my girlfriend Jane and her family. She had her visiting 95-year-old grandmother and uncle visiting as well. Jane’s mom outdid herself with a wonderful feast. Traditionally no matter where I spent my Thanksgiving my tradition always included a movie theater visit sometime during the day. I asked Jane for three things for Thanksgiving so I could keep some of my traditions while I spent Thanksgiving with her and her family. I asked for mac and cheese and marshmallows to be present at dinner. And I asked her to accompany me at a movie for Turkey day. So after some football and dinner Jane made good on my third and last request and we went to the movies.

The movie we saw tonight was The Next Three Days 2010 starring Russell Crowe, Elizabeth Banks and Olivia Wilde. It’s about a married couple’s life that is turned upside down when the wife is accused of a murder. Russell Crowe’s character plans his wife’s escape from jail and their life on the run. This movie had promise. The idea was sound, but the overall execution failed badly when it came to the story line and the excessive running time of this movie. This movie was about two hours and 20 minutes long. The movie was 40 minutes too long. The movie took too long to get to the final escape plan. The end of the movie was good, but my god, it dragged out way to long to get there. I was very disappointed in this movie. Try again Russell Crowe.

Saturday November 27th, 2010

Today was movie marathon day. I was looking forward to spending some time by myself at my favorite movie theater with the cool custom soda machines. The first movie I saw was Burlesque (2010) starring Cher, Christina Aguilera, Eric Dane, Cam Gigandet. Kristen Bell and Stanley Tucci. A small-town girl ventures to Los Angeles and finds her place in a neo-burlesque club run by a former dancer. I’ll say straight up that I did enjoy and recommend this movie. Its got something for everyone. For the straight guys its got hot chicks in skimpy outfits doing sexy dances. The chicks will dig it cause, well its got lots of dancing, female stars and hot guys like Mc Steamy from “Grey’s Anatomy” and Cam Gigandet from Twilight. Come to think of it gay guys will like it for the same reason as the straight girls, plus not only does it star Cher but she also goes a couple of singing numbers. Cher and Stanley Tucci were the stand out characters in this film for me. Both were very entertaining to watch. Kristen Bell played the bitchy character, but she looked hot. I remember her from a very cool TV show Veronica Mars. Christina Aguilera was well…. Christina Aguilera. She can act but it felt like she was playing herself. Burlesque has some great singing, dancing numbers and hot chicks in skimpy outfits, I have to recommend it!

The second film I saw was Faster (2010) starring Dwayne Johnson, Billy Bob Thornton and Carla Gugino. An ex-con sets out to avenge his brother’s death after they were double-crossed during a heist years ago. During his campaign, however, a veteran cop and an egocentric hit man track him. I was looking forward to this movie cause Dwayne Johnson was returning to an action film as he took a turning doing lame kid friendly flicks. With the exception of Race to Witch Mountain, he did crappy kid flicks like The Game Plan and Tooth Fairy. I so wanted to like this film, but I didn’t, it was disappointed. Here’s why. This is a revenge flick where the action fell short than expected. In action films you are suppose to like your leading character, as they should exude charisma, humor and some other likable quality. Well, Dwayne Johnson’s character didn’t have any of these qualities. His character was not likable at all. As he seeks his revenge he’s nothing but a cold-blooded executioner. He was like The Terminator. You don’t root for The Terminator, you root for Sarah and John Connor. I didn’t even consider this an action film. There was one scene in the film where he confronts one of the persons that didn’t kill his brother but was there and witnessed it. This character had regretted his decision and went straight to change his life. Dwayne Johnson’s character was going to kill him execution style. I told myself if he shoots him I’m walking out of this theater. Well it didn’t happen, but the movie never got better. Dwayne Johnson needs a do over for his next action film. Dwayne Johnson has great charisma; unfortunately he lost it in this film and needs to find it again.

The third film I saw today was Love and Other Drugs (2010) starring Jake Gyllenhaal, Anne Hathaway, Oliver Platt and Hank Azaria. Maggie (Hathaway) is an alluring free spirit who won’t let anyone – or anything – tie her down. But she meets her match in Jamie (Gyllenhaal). I’m a big fan of Anne Hathaway and was looking forward to seeing this movie. I had just seen her on Saturday Night Live and she mentioned that she did some nudity for this film. Bonus! Well she didn’t let me down. For you guys out there this movie gets the “boobie” alert. Its rated R for lots of Anne Hathaway boobage and more boobage in a party scene. But I digress. This movie was good. I enjoyed the chemistry between Jake Gyllenhaal and Anne Hathaway. I also liked the movie for personal reasons. Jake Gyllenhaal’s character finds out that Anne Hathaway’s character has the first stages of Parkinson’s. This creates problems within the relationship, as Anne Hathaway’s character doesn’t want to burden him with her health issues. I understand what Jake Gyllenhaal’s character is going through as it hits home with me. The movie has a happy ending which I was relived with, so I recommend this film. Check it out.

The last film of the day I saw was the computer animated 3D showing of Tangled (2010) starring the voice talents of Zachary Levi, Mandy Moore, Donna Murphy and Ron Perlman. The longhaired Princess Rapunzel has spent her entire life in a tower, but when she falls in love with a bandit who was passing by she must venture into the outside world for the first time to find him. This movie was a lot of fun and very enjoyable in 3D. All of the characters including the bad buys where very entertaining to watch. The scene-stealer was Max the horse. There was some musical numbers that weren’t cheesy which I thought was cool. The movie was funny and very charming. While I was watching this film I kept thinking that I would love to take my girlfriends daughter who is five years old to see this film. There were a couple of scenes that she may find scary, but she is going to fall in love with Max the horse. I talked to Jane about it. Apparently they saw a TV trailer commercial of Tangled while I was at my movie marathon and her daughter really wants to see it. So we made plans to see it together this coming week.

So to sum up, The Next Three Days = suck, Burlesque = doesn’t suck, Faster = suck, Love and Other Drugs = doesn’t suck and Tangled = definitely doesn’t suck.

You know where to find me, till next time my movie peeps! – Spartan Phoenix       

Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  158

  • February           2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 16
  • May                  2010: Movies Seen: 18
  • June                 2010: Movies Seen: 19
  • July                  2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • August             2010: Movies Seen: 21
  • September       2010: Movies Seen: 17
  • October           2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • November       2010: Movies Seen: 13
2 Responses to “Tangled / Love and Other Drugs / Faster / Burlesque / The Next Three Days”


  1. November 30, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    Remember the moment of the movie where I whipsred to you, “So I’m waiting for the part in this movie where it doesn’t suck.” LOL.

  2. December 1, 2010 at 8:02 am

    Ha hah! That was funny cause I was wondering the same thing:-)


Leave a Reply

