01
Jan
11

The King’s Speech / Gulliver’s Travels / Spartan Phoenix Video Pick: The Last Legion

The King’s Speech / Gulliver’s Travels / Spartan Phoenix Video Pick: The Last Legion

December 29th, 2010, Atlanta GA

Today I wanted to get some after Christmas sale window-shopping done. Since I wasn’t spending money today I wanted to see which stores had the best deals. I wanted to visit the Mall of Georgia today to see what was going on there. They have a Regal multi-plex theater.  So I decided to do a quick two-movie marathon before my window shopping.

The first film I saw today was The King’s Speech (2010) starring Colin Firth, Helena Bonham Carter and Geoffrey Rush. The story of King George VI of Britain, his impromptu ascension to the throne and the speech therapist that helped the unsure monarch become worthy of it. This is one of those movies that got my attention because of its cast. Also the historical side of this story is very interesting too. I’m becoming a big Colin Firth fan as well; I’m enjoying his roles in all of his recent films I’ve seen. Colin Firth’s role as King George VI of Britain is exceptional. His character has a speech impediment that’s make public speaking (which is crucial to his title as King) a burden. Geoffrey Rush plays his speech therapist that assists him. Geoffrey Rush is very charming in this role. Helena Bonham Carter plays the Kings wife with charm too. It’s nice to see her as a pleasant character for once. She tends to pick weird quirky roles or play scary ones like he did in the Harry Potter roles. The acting was exceptional in this film, was well as the acting and costumes. The set designs were beautiful as the made the time frame completely believable. My only problem with the film was that is was slow paced in several parts of the film. Some of the scenes tended to drag on where I think some extras editing should have been done. Other than that I found the film to be enjoyable and gave some great incite to a very interesting time of history in Great Britain.

The next film I saw today was Gulliver’s Travels (2010) starring Jack Black, Jason Segel, Emily Blunt, Amanda Peet, Billy Connolly and Chris O’Dowd. Travel writer Lemuel Gulliver takes an assignment in Bermuda, but ends up on the island of Liliput, where he towers over its tiny citizens. I like Jack Black, I know some people don’t. I like his sense of humor. I know he tends to play similar characters in most of his movies, but he’s a funny guy and very charming too. This is a modern take on the Gulliver’s Travels story. What if a mailroom nerdy nobody got a chance at adventure? This movie answers that with witty charm. This is a fun family film with a great cast. I was pleased that this movie had a lot of Star Wars references due to the fact that Jack Black’s character is a big Star Wars nerd like myself. Jack Black’s character’s love for music also provides some comedic scenes too. Chris O’Dowd plays the jealous bad guys role with great comedic timing. If you get a chance check out his BBC comedy TV show The IT Crowd (TV series) 2006-2010. It’s a very funny show about the nerdy IT computer guys that maintain the computer needs for a company they don’t believe in. I liked Gulliver’s Travels (2010) and the surprises it shared in this modern version of the Gulliver story. What I liked best about this film was the surprise visit of another giant to the island of Liliput. I’ll leave the tease to that for now. This was a very funny film with heart, check it out.

With this blog post I would like to introduce the Spartan Phoenix Video Pick. I’m going to review and recommend a movie on video you should see that I pick out of my own movie collection. If you know me personally, you know that I’ve always had an extensive movie collection that started with VHS and now has turned into DVD’s and Blu-ray. I currently own over 850 movies on DVD and Blu-ray. I own a few VHS movies that are out of print and still aren’t available on disc. Who knows, if you know me personally and live near me you might be able to borrow the movie from me directly.

My first Spartan Phoenix Video Pick is The Last Legion (2007) starring Colin Firth, Ben Kingsley, Aishwarya Rai and Thomas Brodie-Sangster. As the Roman Empire crumbles, young Romulus Augustus flees the city and embarks on a perilous voyage to Britain to track down a legion of supporters. I picked this movie cause it stars Colin Firth in another role that he commands in this sword and some sorcery film about the beginning of the Excalibur sword legend. The film has a great ensemble cast of cool warriors and great bad guys. Colin Firth plays the lead good guy as he leads a small band of warriors that play bodyguard to a young Romulas played by Thomas Brodie-Sangster who can also bee seen as the love sick boy in the romantic Christmas comedy Love Actually (2003) which also co-stars Colin Firth. The coolest character in The Last Legion is the mysterious ass kicking warrior woman played by Indian beauty Aishwarya Rai.

What’s funny, as I was leaving the theater that played The King’s Speech starring Colin Firth I saw a poster ad with Aishwarya Rai promoting something like perfume or designer clothes. I couldn’t remember what she was promoting cause she looked hot. I think her American audience is going to grow. When you see The Last Legion you will see what I mean. For a good adventure action film, check this one out.

So The Last Legion is my first Spartan Phoenix Video Pick. This is the last Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon Man Blog for the 2010 year, which has tuned out to be an interesting one. I have one more month in my yearlong experiment. Stay tuned for more!

– Spartan Phoenix

Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  176

  • February            2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 16
  • May                  2010: Movies Seen: 18
  • June                 2010: Movies Seen: 19
  • July                  2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • August             2010: Movies Seen: 21
  • September            2010: Movies Seen: 17
  • October            2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • November            2010: Movies Seen: 13
  • December            2010: Movies Seen: 18
0 Responses to “The King’s Speech / Gulliver’s Travels / Spartan Phoenix Video Pick: The Last Legion”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

