18
Jan
11

Hothlanta / Season of the Witch / Country Strong / Video Pick – Immortal (Ad Vitam)

Hothlanta / Season of the Witch / Country Strong / Immortal (Ad Vitam)

Saturday January 8th, 2011

So I’m a little behind on my Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon Man Blog. Due to a stronger than usual snowdrop here in the Atlanta area, this town came to stand still and shut down for two to five days. The ice that accumulated here in town reeked havoc on all motorized travel here in town. The snowstorm we got was nick named “snow apocalypse”. Among myself and my fellow Star Wars nerd heads we called it “Hothlanta”

This is my original Han Solo in Hoth gear action figure surrendering to Hothlanta

Before the heavy snow fall I got a chance to see a couple of movies which were the first two in January I would see. This month is the last month of my yearlong Spartan Phoenix experiment. I’m trying to see 200 movies in a calendar year. But I’m not sure if I can do it. Gonna give it a shot though.

Today my fiancée Jane and I made plans to see a movie today. There were only two movies opening this week to see. So I asked Jane to drop me off at the theater early so I could see another movie first. Then she would meet me later for the second movie. The first movie I saw was Season of the Witch (2010) starring Nicolas Cage, Ron Perlman, Claire Foy and Christopher Lee. Its about 14th-century knights that transport a suspected witch to a monastery, where monks deduce her powers could be the source of the Black Plague. This movie wasn’t a great movie but was still enjoyable. The best part of this movie was the sidekick to Nicolas Cage played by Ron Perlman. Ron Perlman is a great character actor and has gotten his lead roles like in the Hellboy movies and one of my favorite TV shows “Sons of Anarchy” (2008). Season of the Witch had some good action. The costumes and sets were pretty cool. I liked the twist at the end too. Like I said, not a bad movie, but not a great one.

After Season of the Witch I met my wonderful fiancée in the theater playing Country Strong (2010) starring Gwyneth Paltrow, Tim McGraw, Garrett Hedlund and Leighton Meester. This drama is centered on a rising country-music songwriter (Hedlund) who sparks with a fallen star (Paltrow). Together, they mount his ascent and her comeback, which leads to romantic complications involving her husband/manager (McGraw) and a beauty queen-turned-singer (Meester). This is one of those movies that I think Gwyneth Paltrow is looking for a comeback on. She’s hasn’t has a big movie hit in a while. She was good and sang all of her characters songs as well as the rest of the cast did. But this movie was not hers at all. She was completely outshined by co-star Garrett Hedlund. Garrett Hedlund is the true star of this film.

Breakout star Garrett Hedlund as Beau Hutton in Country Strong

This movie would have sucked if it weren’t for him. He was completely believable as the young and up and coming country star. Garrett Hedlund sung all of his characters songs. I’m not a big country music fan but I did enjoy the music in this movie especially the songs that Garrett Hedlund’s character did. His acting was superb too. Garrett Hedlund can also be currently seen as the lead in TRON: Legacy 2010. Country Strong should be Garrett Hedlund’s break out role.

My Spartan Phoenix Video Pick is Immortal (Ad Vitam) (2004) starring Linda Hardy, Charlotte Rampling and Thomas Kretschmann. New York 2095. In a strange pyramid floating in the sky, the gods of ancient Egypt are judging Horus. In the city, a young women with blue hair and tears is arrested, but she has a secret power, even to herself… I originally found this movie in a DVD bargin bin at a local video star chain. The cove of the DVD caught my attention I and I purchased the movie. I liked this movie so much I upgraded to a Blu-ray copy. This is a French made movie with very cool effects and characters. Immortal (Ad Vitam) has a cool futuristic yet 1950’s style to it. There is a weird but cool human and humanoid alien cast of characters in this film. Some of the characters are computer generated even is its just their upper torso. The lead character played by Linda Hardy is captivating and weirdly attractive in her blue hair and style. If you’re a fan of sci-fi and check out this cool flick

Well If I’m gonna hit 200 movies before my year long experiment ends by the end of this month I’ve got some work to do.

Stay tuned! – Spartan Phoenix

Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  178

  • February            2010: Movies Seen: 12
  • March              2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • April                 2010: Movies Seen: 16
  • May                  2010: Movies Seen: 18
  • June                 2010: Movies Seen: 19
  • July                  2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • August             2010: Movies Seen: 21
  • September            2010: Movies Seen: 17
  • October            2010: Movies Seen: 14
  • November            2010: Movies Seen: 13
  • December            2010: Movies Seen: 18
  • January            2011: Movies Seen: 2
1 Response to “Hothlanta / Season of the Witch / Country Strong / Video Pick – Immortal (Ad Vitam)”


  1. January 25, 2011 at 1:59 am

    you’re only about 2.5 marathons from meeting your goal… might have to get creative with your time =)


Leave a Reply

