05
Feb
11

The Mechanic / No Strings Attached / The Rite / I Love You Phillip Morris / The Company Men

The Mechanic / No Strings Attached / The Rite / I Love You Phillip Morris / The Company Men

Thursday Jan 27th, 2011
With only nine movies to go to reach my 200 movies seen in a year mark and only 5 days left to do it I had some catching up to do. The problem I’m running into is movies to watch. Sure I could watch movies I’ve already seen to meet my goal, but I had to get creative and find movies that I haven’t seen in the theater yet. So after work today I went to the independent movie theater to see a couple of films in limited release.


The first film I saw today was I Love You Phillip Morris (2009) starring Jim Carrey, Ewan McGregor and Leslie Mann. Steven Russell is happily married to Debbie, and a member of the local police force when a car accident provokes a dramatic reassessment of his life. Steven becomes open about his homosexuality and decides to live life to the fullest – even if it means breaking the law. According to the opening and ending credits this movie is a true story. I thought Jim Carrey did a great job portraying the lead role of once ideal family man who leaves his family to live out his gay lifestyle. The best line in the movie is when he says, “Being a gay man is very expensive”. This leads to credit card fraud and jail time where he meets his future partner played by Ewan McGregor. Ewan McGregor is very funny in this film too. Both of them in time are released from jail and live together where eventually Jim Carrey’s character gets them into trouble again. This was a very funny film and well acted too. I recommend this movie but wait for video.


The last film I saw today was The Company Men (2010) starring Ben Affleck, Tommy Lee Jones, Chris Cooper, Kevin Costner and Maria Bello. The story centers on a year in the life of three men trying to survive a round of corporate downsizing at a major company – and how that affects them, their families, and their communities. This movie takes place during the 2007- 2008 recession that affected everyone including myself. This movie did hit home for me. Although I wasn’t making the six figure salaries the characters in the movie were I did get laid off from a great paying job back in 2007. This movie had a great cast and the acting was good too. Kevin Costner had a good supporting role as a carpenter that hires Ben Affleck after he loses his office job. The movie was a little slow and depressing at times, but there was good drama. Not a great film but maybe worth a look on video later.
Fri Jan 28th, 2011
With only a few days left in the month to reach my 200 movie goal and not enough days off from work I had to get creative. Today I worked a morning shift that got me off from work about 1pm. This gave me enough time to get to the movie theater and get a decent size movie marathon in. I have a free Regal movie ticket from my movie reward points. So I used it to get in this movie marathon today.


The first movie I saw today was The Rite (2011) starring Anthony Hopkins, Colin O’Donoghue and Alice Braga. It’s about an American priest that travels to Italy to study at an exorcism school. Anthony Hopkins plays the seasoned exorcist that mentors the young American priest. However Anthony Hopkins’s character soon becomes the one who is possessed. The movie trailers lead you to believe that this is Anthony Hopkins best role since his Oscar winning role in The Silence of the Lambs (1991). This is not the case. Although Anthony Hopkins does get to play a creepy character in this movie it doesn’t measure up, in fact seeing him do creepy roles has become boring and predictable. He should stay away from these roles and keep to other dramatic roles. Overall this movie was boring and not scary. If it wasn’t for the music and creative editing this movie would have totally sucked, instead it just kinda sucked.

The next film I saw was The Mechanic (2011) starring Jason Statham, Ben Foster and Donald Sutherland. The Mechanic follows an elite hit man as he teaches his trade to an apprentice who has a connection to one of his previous victims. I was looking forward to seeing this movie. I’ve become a big fan of Jason Statham and his action films. I was also happy to see that Ben Foster was co-starring in this film. I became a fan of his after his scene-stealing role as Russell Crowe’s main henchmen in the 3:10 to Yuma (2007). This movie The Mechanic is also a remake from the Charles Bronson’s The Mechanic film back in 1972.

I saw the original and enjoyed it. This new movie does a pretty good job giving a good tribute to the original. This movie was sleek, stylish and had some good action scenes. I liked this movie and it was passed well too. For some good action check this movie out. Oh and for the guys out there you get your boobie fix too.
The next movie I saw was Gulliver’s Travels (2010), again. I didn’t see it in 3D this time, just 2D. The movie is funny enough to see again. I did like the current take it took on the classic Gulliver’s Travels tales.


Next I saw No Strings Attached (2011) starring Natalie Portman, Ashton Kutcher and Kevin Kline. A guy and girl try to keep their relationship strictly physical, but it’s not long before they learn that they want something more. This movie was very funny and had a great supporting cast. Natalie Portman was refreshingly funny in this film. I’m used to seeing her in more dramatic roles. Her comedic timing was great in this film. Kevin Kline played the father to Ashton Kutcher’s character. He was very funny too. I’m glad the movie was rated R cause it really made the movie funnier with the racy language. This is a fun film and a good date movie too. Check it out.
The next and last film I saw at this theater tonight was The Green Hornet (2011). I saw this movie again but this time in 2D, not in 3D like I did before. This is another movie I recommend and is worth seeing more than once. After this movie ended it was a little after 11pm. Time to go home right? Not when I have two movie to see before I get to 200. Midnight was coming on. Since there wasn’t any new movie releases to see at midnight there was only one thing to see. Clue? Well it involves a “Time Warp” dance. Yep I was on my way to see the midnight showing of The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975). More on that in my next blog post. Stay tuned…
– Spartan Phoenix
Total movies seen in the theater to date since February 1st 2010:  198
· February 2010: Movies Seen: 12
· March  2010: Movies Seen: 14
· April  2010: Movies Seen: 16
· May  2010: Movies Seen: 18
· June  2010: Movies Seen: 19
· July  2010: Movies Seen: 14
· August  2010: Movies Seen: 21
· September 2010: Movies Seen: 17
· October 2010: Movies Seen: 14
· November 2010: Movies Seen: 13
· December 2010: Movies Seen: 18
· January 2011: Movies Seen: 22

0 Responses to “The Mechanic / No Strings Attached / The Rite / I Love You Phillip Morris / The Company Men”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

