09
May
11

Thor … ehh.

Thor … ehh.

Thor (2011) starring Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Tom Hiddleston and Anthony Hopkins. The powerful but arrogant warrior Thor is cast out of the fantastic realm of Asgard and sent to live amongst humans on Earth, where he soon becomes one of their finest defenders. So the first of the big budget superhero movies to come out this summer is Thor. You know I will see all of these superhero films, but Thor intrigued me cause I was curious how lead actor Chris Hemsworth would pull it off. Chris had a small put important roll as Kirks father in the last Star Trek film directed by J.J. Abrams. Also, Chris has been cast as Patrick Swayze’ s character Jed in the upcoming Red Dawn(2011) re-make. Here is a peak at the new cast for the new Red Dawn movie:

A bit of trivia, Chris beat out his own brother Liam Hemsworth for the lead role as Thor.

I saw Thor in IMAX 3-D. However this time I saw it on a ”real” IMAX screen, which was cool.  For my thoughts about “real” and “fake” IMAX theaters check out my previous post on the subject here:

https://spartanphoenix.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/is-your-imax-theater-a-real-imax-theater-do-i-feel-guilty-for-what-i-do/

Lead actor Chris Hemsworth was convincing and charming as Thor. But I did find the movie as a whole disappointing. Natalie Portman was a non-factor, as anyone could have done her lamely written role. This was disappointing cause I wanted her to shine in a movie to make up for the craptastic movie Black Swan. I think she phoned this one in. The only thing I really liked about this movie was Thor’s warrior friends that go to battle with him. I didn’t like the bad guy and the story telling had holes. I wont say this movie sucked, but it wasn’t good. Wait for video. If you do see it don’t forget to wait through the end of the credits to see a secret scene.

I’m still high from the awesomeness that was Fast Five (2011), its going to be interesting to see if any of the big summer movies can top it in my opinion.  After the disappointment of Thor I walked right into another showing of Fast Five to cheer me up. It worked. Go see Fast Five instead.

– Spartan Phoenix

1 Response to “Thor … ehh.”


  1. July 4, 2011 at 6:56 am

    We miss your movie reviews! Going to continue, or has Spartan been retired?


Leave a Reply

