18
Jul
11

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, Transformers: Dark of the Moon and more! Spartan Phoenix is back!

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, Transformers: Dark of the Moon
and more! Spartan Phoenix is back!

Don’t worry Spartan Phoenix Movie Marathon Man fans, I’m not dead. Just busy and very preoccupied with family, work and other fun stuff. Ok maybe I’ve been a little lazy in keeping up with this blog too. Don’t worry though, I’ve still found the time to do some movie marathons, I mean come on, shit, movies are in my blood, cant stop seeing them even now. Lets dive right into it.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 starring…. Well you know who is in these movies. If you don’t, stop reading this, go to the mirror and punch yourself really hard in the neck and watch your own reaction to this. For this final installment of the Harry Potter movie franchise I decided to take advantage of a special movie event that selected AMC theaters were doing. Harry Potter 7 Part 2 opened Thursday at Midnight. I bought a two-movie ticket for $20 bucks to see HP 7 Part 1 at 9pm, Thursday night at 9pm, and then in the same theater saw HP 7 Part 2 later at midnight (12:01am Friday) in 3D! Every theatergoer even got a special pair of Harry Potter promo 3D glasses.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 was awesome! Being a huge fan of these books and movies I was very satisfied with this last movie of the franchise. There was two scenes in the movie that I was hoping the movie would include and not fuck it up cause they were my favorite parts in the book. The two scenes I speak of was Neville Longbottom kicking some snake ass and Mrs. Weasley kicking some Belatrix ass! I was not disappointed!

On a personal note during a certain scene in HP 7 Part 2 I got a little sad cause I started to think of my mom. My mom passed away last December (2010). My mom was a bookworm. She loved reading books. I didn’t. I loved TV and movies. When I got into Harry Potter I listened to the audio books, which were the best I’d ever heard. I got my mom into Harry Potter and she dived head first into the books and it was something we shared together closely. Miss ya mom!

For more info about the awesome Harry Potter audio books, check out my post last year of Harry Potter 7 Part here: https://spartanphoenix.wordpress.com/2010/11/21/harry-potter-deathly-hallows-unstoppable-saw-3d-morning-glory-skyline/

Transformers: Dark of the Moon (2011) starring everyone one from the last movies
except Meagan Fox and some new hotness. Transformers 3 was everything I expected and more. What a great popcorn movie. This movie had so much frickin action, I didn’t wanna get up from my chair to pee. If this is the last movie of the franchise I will be satisfied. New hottie girlfriend of Sam Witwicky played by Rosie Huntington-Whiteley was good on the eyes. Whether she can act or not didn’t matter in this film cause that’s not why you see these movies. Director Michael Bay gave me what I wanted in a Michael Bay film: Action, explosions, gunplay, humor, tiny bit a drama and more action. I think Michael Bay gets a bad rap from movie snobs. I have enjoyed all of his movies cause he gives me my fun summer movie popcorn action adventure films. Transformers: Dark of the Moon has an added bonus for sci-fi nerds like myself. One of the new Transformer characters Sentinel Prime was voiced by Star Trek legend Leonard Nimoy (aka Spock bitches!) There were even two Star Trek references in the movie too. Transformers 3 was a lot of fun and the best of the trilogy by far. I saw this movie in 3D IMAX. The IMAX sound was awesome! Have some fun at the movies and
check it out!

Like I said even though I haven’t been posting movie blogs in the last two months I have been busy seeing movies. I’m gonna give you guys a quick rundown on what I’ve seen and whether you should see it or not. Here it goes….

Horrible Bosses (2011). Very funny movie with a great cast. Jennifer Aniston is hot and very naughty in this flick and Jason Bateman
is excellently funny in this film. See it!

Cars 2
(2011). This movie was a little boring for my taste. I didn’t really like the
first one. It’s a kid’s movie and should be treated as such. At least I got a
15 minute nap somewhere in the middle of the movie. I didn’t miss anything. Skip it.

Larry Crowne
(2011). After losing his job, Larry Crown (Tom Hanks) a middle-aged
man reinvents himself by going back to college. This movie was refreshing and fun. It was co-written by Nia Vardalos star of My Big Fat Greek Wedding. Julia Roberts plays Larry Crown’s college teacher and love interest. I recommend this film, check it out.

Bad Teacher
(2011). This movie was just OK. It had its funny moment. Co-star Jason Segel was a lot funnier than star Cameron Diaz. If this movie weren’t rated R, it would have sucked. Check it out but wait for video.

Green Lantern
(2011). This movie got slammed by everyone, included Green Lantern comic book loyalists. Since I didn’t know jack shit about the history of Green Lantern and had no expectations so I actually enjoyed it. Star Ryan Reynolds was entertaining as the lead Lantern hero. Love interest played by Blake Lively was hot and not annoying, as many have complained about. I liked it, but wait for video.

Kung Fu Panda 2 (2011). This was a good sequel to the first one. I like the new characters and the movie was very funny. I enjoyed the 3D showing I saw too. It looked great in 3D. I hope they make a 3rd one. I’m sure they will. See it.

Super 8
(2011). I thought this movie about an alien who escapes from military captivity in a rural small 1970’s town was just OK. I wasn’t impressed like many other critics were. The best thing about this movie was the 1970’s setting and the young cast. Wait for video, but its not a must see in my opinion.

X-Men: First Class (2011). I really liked this new X-men movie with the younger versions of the mutants. The highlight of the movie was a young Magneto played by Michael Fassbender who finds some former Nazi’s in hiding and kicks some ass. Kevin Bacon played the main bad guy and this was a huge bonus. Check it out!

The Hangover Part II (2011). This sequel was an awesomely funny follow-up to the original. I laughed just as much and maybe more than the original. The Thailand setting for this film was perfect with all of the debauchery the Hangover Wolf pack gets into. Don’t miss it; this movie is some funny shit!

Well that’s it for now. Thanks for being patient and I will movie nerd it soon!

– Spartan Phoenix

2 Responses to “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2, Transformers: Dark of the Moon and more! Spartan Phoenix is back!”


  1. July 20, 2011 at 3:43 am

    Thanks! Thanks for coming back and posting your thoughts. I had to look at Rotten Tomato while you were distracted (getting married etc). I always check out your thoughts before taking my wife to the cinema. YOu always make me look like a movie genius! Cheers! R

  2. July 20, 2011 at 5:01 am

    Well Royce, I have to thank you. It was your comment that made me get off my ass and write the blog again. Glad you enjoy the blog. Thanks man!


Leave a Reply

