26
Jul
11

Captain America: The First Avenger F#@king Rocked! Friends With Benefits Did Not Suck. Video Pick: Take Me Home Tonight!

Captain America: The First Avenger F#@kingRocked Friends
with Benefits
Did Not Suck. Video Pick: Take Me Home Tonight!

I had to work a morning shift on Friday, the opening weekend for both Captain America and Friends With Benefits. I made arrangements
to head to the movie theater right after work. Since I wanted to see the 3D showing of Captain America I had to see Friends with Benefits first cause the timing worked better. But not to worry, my nerdness remembered to bring my own pair of 3D glasses. When it comes to seeing movies in 3D some should be missed, some should not. Captain
America: The First Avenger
falls into the latter. More on that
later.

Friends with Benefits (2011) starring Justin Timberlake, Mila Kunis, Woody Harrelson, Patricia Clarkson, Jenna Elfman and Richard Jenkins. While trying to avoid the clichés of Hollywood romantic comedies, Dylan (Timberlake) and Jamie (Kunis) soon discover however that adding the act of sex to their friendship does lead to complications. I have become a big fan of Justin Timberlake, but in
an N’SYNC, or gay way. Well, I’ll let you decide that. I have become a fan of Justin Timberlake’s exploits of Saturday night Live. This guy is funny. He has very good comedic chops. His character in this movie was funny and charming. Mila Kunis, his co-star was also entertaining, not to mention, kinda hot. Woody Harrelson plays Justin’s very gay co-worker and is hilarious and steals the scenes he shares. The movie’s script was funny and it also takes a refreshing serious turn when Justin’s character has to deal with his father’s illness instead of running from it. The movie pokes fun at the romantic comedy formula (which I’m a fan of) without becoming a slave to it. I liked the way it ended with its tribute
to romantic comedies but with its own fresh take on what matters most in many relationships…. sex. This is a good date movie otherwise wait for video.

Captain America: The First Avenger (2011) starring Chris Evans, Tommy Lee Jones, Hugo Weaving and Hayley Atwell. After being
deemed unfit for military service, Steve Rogers volunteers for a top secret research project that turns him into Captain America, a superhero dedicated to defending America’s ideals. This movie was soooo much fun. As you know, I see all superhero movies, but have not read the back-story of most of them. There are a few that I know the back-story for, but for this year’s superhero movie releases, not so much. Not having any expectations is a good thing, which is the reason I seemed to be the only one that liked Green Lantern.

The thing I liked best about this Captain America movie was the back story Chris Evans’s character as Steve Rodgers and how his too short and skinny character becomes the hero by showing heart and honor. I thought the casting of Chris Evans as Captain America and Hugo Weaving as the evil Red Scull was perfect. The ladies will like seeing Chris with his shirt off. Overall, the casting of all of the other characters was done well. I enjoyed the storyline; the humor and I also loved the introduction and back story of Howard Stark’s character, the father of Tony Stark aka Iron Man. Howard Stark’s role in this film is interesting, cause you get to see how is advance weapon technology assist’s not only Captain America but also lends a hand in his birth and origin to becoming the superhuman he is. Look carefully when Steve Rogers is making his transformation in the “super human pod”, all of
the control panels say “Stark Industries”.

I have seen a lot of 3D movies since the 3D craze started, and for the first time while watching one I jumped back in my seat in a certain scene in this Captain America movie. There is a very cool scene involving his shield that does an awesome ricochet back at the audience. Awesome!!!! This movie was a good old action packed superhero movie worth seeing in 3D. It’s my favorite superhero movie this year. Check it out in the
theater, in 3D if you can!

My video pick this time is the movie Take Me Home Tonight (2011) starring Topher Grace, Anna Faris, Dan Fogler and Teresa Palmer. It was just released on video July 19th, 2011. I just bought a bluray copy
myself. When I saw this movie in the theater I mentioned in a previous blog entry that it was one of the funniest movies I’ve seen, and I still stand by this claim. This is a must see movie for all fo us that grew up in the 80’s and have a love for 80’s pop culture. It stars Topher Grace from That 70’s Show fame. It takes place on one night in 1988 that changes the lives of everyone involved in on wild night that includes two parties, a stolen car, sex on a trampoline, and a ride in a large steel ball rolling down the street. This movie pays and awesome tribute to life in the 80’s and is very funny. Its rated R for language and Angie Everhart boobies. Who is Angie Everhart? This is Angie Everhart:

Also you get to see a cute gothy Michelle Trachtenberg from Buffy the Vampire Slayer” and EuroTrip (2004) fame:

If you see this movie, I recommend renting or buying the actual DVD or blu-ray due to the special features on the disc. You wont get the special features if you stream of watch this on demand. There is a video for the song Don’t You Want Me (originally done by Human League) covered
by a band on the soundtrack to this movie. The cover is not the notable thing about this video. The entire cast of the movie is in this video for the band and does an awesome tribute to every single cool 80’s movie. It’s a very funny and creative tribute to 80’s decade. As I’ve said its one of my favorite movies I’ve seen this year. Its disappointing that it didn’t get the attention it deserved in the theatrical release, so lets give it its due on video. Check it out my movie nerds!

– Spartan Phoenix

 

 

0 Responses to “Captain America: The First Avenger F#@king Rocked! Friends With Benefits Did Not Suck. Video Pick: Take Me Home Tonight!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

