28
Aug
11

Colombiana & Our Idiot Brother

Colombiana & Our Idiot Brother

I did a little two-movie marathon today. The first of the two is Colombiana (2011) starring Zoe Saldana, Michael Vartan, Cliff Curtis, Lennie James and Jordi Mollà. A young woman, after witnessing her parents’ murder as a child in Bogota, grows up to be a stone-cold assassin. Hot chick kickin’ ass? Check. Zoe Saldana gets the movie
she deserves with this excellent action thriller. Since Avatar, Star Trek and The Losers, she has stepped into the limelight as not only a good actor, but now as a good action star. Writer and producer Luc Besson knows how to make his leading ladies shine i.e: The Fifth Element, Leon: The Professional and La Femme Nikita. I call this movie an action thriller cause well, it’s a given its gonna be action, but the thriller is the excellent cat and mouse game between Zoe Saldana’s character and the authorities that are after here while she executes her revenge. I really liked the over plot and story. The script is smart and clever too. I also liked the casting of the film. And trust me, for my dude friends out there; Zoe Saldana is one hot butt kicker. For this reason she stays on my top 5 list I have referenced several times: https://spartanphoenix.wordpress.com/2010/11/08/celebrity-top-5-freebee-sex-pass-list/

In action scenes, I have always enjoyed good and creative death scenes. This movie does not disappoint in this area. Not only does Zoe Saldana kick ass in some hand-to-hand combat, she is very proficient with all kinds of weapons. The movie was rated PG-13 and kudos to the editing, as it teased your mind just enough to figure out how gruesome the death scenes can get with out actually being rated R. Of course the perve side of me wanted it rated R for another reason. The movie was the perfect length, and worth a theater visit. Check it out!

The second and last movie of my short movie marathon was Our Idiot Brother (2011) starring Paul Rudd, Elizabeth Banks, Zooey Deschanel and Emily Mortimer. A comedy centered on an idealist who barges into the lives of his three sisters. About five minutes into the film my wife surprised me and met me in theater. I unusually tell her my movie marathon schedule so she knows what I’m seeing and when. From time to time she surprises me and shows up to meet. I like it when she does that; she’s a cool wife. All right, on with the movie take. I had been
seeing a lot of hype about this movie due to the TV commercials and the late night interviews with the stars with one of favorite late night shows Chelsea Lately. After all of the hype I didn’t find the movie as funny as I thought it would be especially with the talented cast it had. Don’t get wrong, the movie did have it funny parts, but I found the movie more drama, than comedy. It’s misleading that way. However the drama in this movie does work, and the main message of this film isn’t too preachy. Paul Rudd was very charming and the leading ladies in this film that play his sisters are also charming and fun to watch. This movie was only 90 minutes so the lack of comedy didn’t hurt as much as it could of. But I did wish it was funnier. I wouldn’t dismiss this film, just wait for video and don’t expect it to be the laugh fest the trailers lead you to believe the film is.

Next week is DragonCon 2011 for me. It’s one of my favorite times of the year. My friend Cat is visiting and I see ourselves checking out a movie or two. After all, Cat was one of my original movie marathon buddies.

More later, stay tuned!

– Spartan Phoenix

0 Responses to “Colombiana & Our Idiot Brother”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

