03
May
13

Iron Man 3 Movie Review

We’re to begin? From the beginning they say! OK here goes! Certain movies, I pre order my ticket. This was one of them. Recently, movie companies have been premiering their movies on Thursday night at 9pm or 10 pm in certain regions instead of the later midnight shows. This is a trend I like. I prefer to be home by midnight the older I get :-) Since I wanted to make sure I got a ticket for the 3D IMAX showing, I bought my ticket weeks ago.

Of all of the summer movies, next to the upcoming Fast & Furious & Star Trek sequels, Iron Man 3 is the movie I was looking forward to the most. I’m proud to say it didn’t disappoint. Iron Man is one of my favorite super heroes and I have to thank Robert Downey JR for this. I have always been a Robert Downey JR fan even through his troubled years with drugs and alcohol. I always recognized his talent and was very pleased with his casting in the first Iron Man movie. Robert is Iron Man in my eyes. He has nailed the role, like Harrison Ford as Indiana Jones and Han Solo. If Iron Man is ever rebooted as a another movie franchise, it will be very hard for me to accept another actor in the role.

Iron Man 3 exceeded my expectations so much I heavily pondered the idea of turning back around and seeing the midnight show after my 9pm show. This movie surprised me more than I expected, and the 3D IMAX really was impressive, including the sound. It’s hard to explain without giving away spoilers, but Iron Man 3 had “a different feel” to it, but in a good way. The direction it took caught me by surprise that it was quite refreshing. Tony Stark gets his ass kicked and his own personal world turned upside down. This is reflected in the trailers, which I’m pleased to say did a great job not giving too much away and saved the best for the movie going experience which I appreciated.

I loved the new characters in the movie and the way Tony Stark had to start from scratch to get back on his feet. It was nice to see Tony kick some ass out of the Iron Man suit by using the genius skills that made him the man he is. I loved the angle the movie took with the villain. The new supporting cast was great! Ben Kingsley and Guy Pierce were awesome!

I was very pleased with the script too. It flowed well and each actors character had their own moment in the sun. I loved the turn that Gwyneth Paltrow”s Pepper Potts character took, plus she looked hot! But Robert’s Tony had the best lines, as he should, and I love me some Stark banter.

I’m trying to be very objected about this movie, cause you all know what a movie homer I am. But I’m trying to find some flaws in the movie, and it’s difficult to do so. If I had one issue with the movie, it would be a spoiler and I prefer to wait a week or two after the movie before I speak my mind about that. But not to worry, its just a little thing, and I was greeting greedy for more cause the movie was AWESOME!!!! :-)

With that said, go see this movie and enjoy the theater experience. I highly recommend seeing this movie on the big screen and in 3D if your one of those that 3D doesn’t bother you. I know in this day and age of big screen HD TVs some prefer to skip the extra cost of 3D and wait to see it at home. Trust me, this movie is worth the extra cost, you will be pleased.

Oh, and for the love of god, it’s a Marvel movie, stay till the end of the credits!!!!

20130503-071956.jpg

2 Responses to “Iron Man 3 Movie Review”


  1. 1 Shane Franklin
    May 3, 2013 at 3:57 am

    Great review, sir! Usually, I don’t mind spoilers, but I am so glad you did not put any in this one. I truly want to be surprised.


Leave a Reply

