31
May
13

Fast & Furious 6 Movie Review

Plot: “Hobbs has Dom and Brian reassemble their crew in order to take down a mastermind who commands an organization of mercenary drivers across 12 countries. Payment? Full pardons for them all”

Like I’ve said before, I love this movie franchise. If they keep making them, I’ll keep seeing them. If you like the Fast & Furious series you will enjoy this sixth installment.

I thought it was be hard to top the last one ( F and F 5 Rio). I’m not saying this 6th movie tops 5, but it still was a lot of fun. The stakes are higher for Dom’s crew, and the movie does a good job showing the next level this “Furious Family” has to go to achieve their goal.

In my opinion this movie focuses less on “the cars” and more on the Furious crew’s character banter and family bonding, sort of speak. This is a good thing! At this point of the movie series, it’s the bonding of these characters and what they would do for each other, and how they back each other up. The actors do a good job “gelling” with their roles and the relationship between each others characters. Some of the most entertaining scenes is the dialog between the Furious crew.

I like to address some of the flack this movie has received. Just like most action movies this movie has some incredible action sequences. Some of the action seems implausible or as I say “Impossible Stunts”. For some reason this didn’t bother me much even though Its easy to spot which couple of scenes I’m referring to. But I didn’t care! The action was fun, very intense and kept me riveted. However, like I said before, I think the character development was just as riveting.

As for the bad guy in this movie, I liked the angle the story took with him. For the Furious crew, they have their hands full with him, and this bad guy called Shaw (played by Brit Luke Evans) is always one step ahead. You’re gonna see a lot more of Luke Evans, and you’ve probably already seen him. He’s in The Hobbit movies as Bard the Bowman, the new Dracula movie (2014), Immortals (2011 as Zeus), Clash of the Titans (2010 as Apollo). But his recent casting is what has me interested in the most. Luke Evans has just been cast as the lead in the new The Crow re-boot. For those that know me as a big Crow fan, this intrigues me very much.

My biggest question in this Fast & Furious franchise gets answered in this new installment. The link between Furious crew member Han and what happens at the end of Tokyo Drift and the last 3 movies. To clarify, Fast 4, 5 and 6 take place before Fast 3 Tokyo Drift. Also if you watch the end scene after the credits in Tokyo Drift there is a cameo by Vin Diesel’s character Dom, that ties the relationship between him and Han that also refers to the adventures they share in the last three movies. With that said, stay for the credits for this new movie Fast and Furious 6!!!!! You get a small sneak peak to number 7.

This new movie also does a good job explaining and tying together the Fast & Furious timeline especially with the return of past characters. Yes I said “characters”.

To sum up, this movies most appealing part is the character and family development. These movies have become fun roller coaster rides. Treat them as such. Just give in to the ride, and enjoy yourself.

20130531-114909.jpg

0 Responses to “Fast & Furious 6 Movie Review”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

