05
Jun
13

After Earth Movie Review

Plot: A crash landing leaves Kitai Raige and his father Cypher stranded on Earth, 1,000 years after events forced humanity’s escape. With Cypher injured, Kitai must embark on a perilous journey to signal for help.

Many people have scorned M. Night Shyamalan for his recent work. Probably because most of his recent work over the past 10 years has sucked. His last good movies in my opinion has been Unbreakable and Signs. It’s interesting that his recent movies don’t promote his name anymore, with good reason I guess.

Also, Will Smith had taken heat for leading his son to his pet movie projects, which I don’t have a problem with. I actually enjoyed the Karate Kid remake, it just should had been called Kung Fu Kid.

After Earth brings an M. Night & Will Smith collaboration together. Well the movie wasn’t bad. I didn’t expect much, but I didn’t expect to like it. Well I did like it. It’s not a great movie, trust me on that. But I did enjoy the ride.

Will Smith may not be a guarantee block buster movie draw like he used to be. But I still enjoy most if his movie choices. However I won’t forgive him for Seven Pounds, I want my money back for that piece of crap. I liked both Will and his son Jayden’s role in After Earth. There is a part of me pulling for Jayden Smith and his movie career. He’s got a good teacher, and I hope he realizes how lucky he is.

After Earth had an interesting plot and future look to it. I only wish there was more family and history back story. The movie gave you a glimpse into this, but not enough for my taste.

This movie is worth a see. But ….. see a matinee or wait for video. In the meantime Will Smith, please please give me Bad Boys 3!!!!! You need to complete this trilogy!

Oh, and M. Night, keep NOT promoting yourself, and let others write for your directing roles, for now, until you come out of your funk. You can help do the screenplays, just let someone else come up the story, like Will Smith did for After Earth.

20130605-141930.jpg

0 Responses to “After Earth Movie Review”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

