25
Dec
13

The Wolf of Wall Street Movie Review

Plot: Based on the true story of Jordan Belfort, from his rise to a wealthy stockbroker living the high life to his fall involving crime, corruption and the federal government. In The Wolf of Wall Street DiCaprio plays Belfort, a Long Island penny stockbroker who served 20 months in prison for defrauding investors in a massive 1990s securities scheme that involved widespread corruption on Wall Street and in the corporate banking world, including shoe designer Steve Madden.

The past few Leo DiCaprio movies have been very frustrating for me. With the exception of Django Unchained, his recent movie roles have kinda pissed me off cause he has taken himself so seriously cause he’s this “serious actor” that commands respect. I know he can act. We all know it. But these angst ridden characters he plays are getting boring for me, and kinda pissing me off. I’ve been saying, Leo, if you want to impress me, do some comedy or a non drama and stretch your skill.

In The Wolf of Wall Street I get a some of what I’m asking for. This movie gives me some comedy out of this true story drama and I’m thankful for this. Because this movie is not only a Martin Scorsese picture that usually doesn’t deliver laughs, which it does I’m happy to say, but probably gives Leo his best acting part of his career.

Leo was great! And I’m happy to say I was very impressed with his portrayal of his take on this true tale of stock broker Jordan Belfort. Leo sold it for me in a hilarious scene where he brought tears to my eyes by laughing out loud when his character tried to get in his car after taking too many quaaludes. It was fracking funny!

The cast was great. Jonah Hill was a big time scene stealer, and was great with Leonardo DiCaprio on screen. The movie is rated R for lots of foul language, sex and nudity. Booby alert! If you like that sort of thing:-) See it!

20131225-132624.jpg

0 Responses to “The Wolf of Wall Street Movie Review”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

