13
Jul
14

I want my Apes in human clothes! Haha! Dawn of the Planet of the Apes Movie Review

I want my Apes in human clothes! Haha! Dawn of the Planet of the Apes Movie Review.

First off, I was a little disappointed with the first Ape movie of the new franchise called Rise of the Planet of the Apes starring James Franco. However I was very impressed with the effects and the motion capture acting by By Andy Serkis and the rest of the ape cast. The direction that this new Ape series was taking. wasn’t what I wanted to see to be honest. I didn’t find these new apes intimidating, scary, or terrifying. What does freak me out is apes in human clothing in more of a humanoid motion and less swinging from trees. I guess the original movie series really struck a cord in my heart and scared me. It scared me more than Jaws.

With the new movie Dawn of the Planet of the Apes I was very curious on what the direction the story was gonna take. I did enjoy this movie a lot more than the first one. The main reason is the drama and evolution of the ape characters and their power shift of control over the humans, and themselves. Again, most of the credit needs to go to the special effects team and the motion capture actors like Andy Serkis and the rest of the ape cast. The overall look of the film with the post apocalyptic feel was also very intriguing.

I recommend the movie. It was emotional, well paced and suspenseful. I saw it in 3D, and felt it didn’t need to be and didn’t translate we’ll enough in 3D to pay extra for this effect. Although overall enjoyable it’s not gonna find a place in my video library. If there’s a third one, I’d be very curious to see the direction it takes. Hopefully I’ll see apes in clothes, hee hee! :-)

20140713-190725-68845370.jpg

0 Responses to “I want my Apes in human clothes! Haha! Dawn of the Planet of the Apes Movie Review”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

